Work for free!

Yann Girard
Thought Pills
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2017

One of the best things I ever did in my whole entire life was that I started working for free.

I worked for free for myself.

I worked on many projects that didn’t work out and I made close to nothing.

For almost three years.

But I wanted to develop my skills.

My knowledge.

I wanted to understand how things really work.

So I rejected dozens of offers to work for other people.

Simply because when you work for someone else you don’t learn a damn thing.

Or maybe you do.

I don’t know.

But it’s almost always the stuff they want you to learn.

The stuff that helps them.

But not you.

It’s never the stuff that will help you when you’re out there on your own.

It’s never the skills that will help you to become independent.

To make money on your own.

To break free.

Because what everybody you work for wants is to keep you small.

So you don’t run away.

And stick with them.

Working for a lousy salary.

So here’s the truth…

When you go out there and work on your own stuff you won’t make a lot of money.

For a long, long time.

Or maybe you will.

I don’t know you.

But I for sure didn’t.

And I’m not talking about being a freelancer.

Or raising money.

Or whatever.

Because that’s the same thing.

You’d still be working for someone.

And you’d still have a boss.

The only difference is that your new boss isn’t called boss anymore.

And your new boss has a lot more power over you than your old boss.

So every once in a while try to work for free.

Work for yourself.

On your own things.

And learn the skills you need to go from zero to one…

Originally published at yanngirard.typepad.com.

--

--