A Love Letter To My First Phone

Before being the indestructible phone meme, Nokia was my first love

Sarah
Thought Thinkers

--

Photo from author / Canva.

Once upon a time, long before the smartphone rivalry between Samsung and Apple, we used to have Nokia.

My first one was a Nokia 3220, and oh damn, I used to consider it the pinnacle of coolness.

An indispensable gadget in the cool kid toolbox.

The Nokia 3220 wasn’t made for the grownups but instead for us, the cool kids. Or so I liked convincing myself.

I remember their personalized phone cases before phone cases were even a thing. I used to keep them well secured in a drawer and interchange them depending on my mood and outfit.

My phone contract, meant for texting my parents and friends, was instead spent on ringtones inspired by my favorite rock bands that I listened to repeatedly without ever getting bored.

Brownie points when I used earphones that made my ears painful after only a few hours.

Yes, you know which ones I’m talking about. The ones that gave your bus neighbor the privilege to endure your music as you play Simple Plan’s Welcome To My Life for the tenth time in a row.

--

--