All I Ever Wanted To Be When I Grew Up Was A Mom..

Sam Chapman
Thought Thinkers
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2022
A mother smiling looking down at a smiling sleeping babe wrapped in a blanket.

My whole life people would ask me what I wanted to be when I was older. They expect you to say things like doctor, lawyer, even teacher. If I said, “I wanted to be a mom”, they would expect more to go with it as if that wasn’t enough.

Why is it that you can’t just want to be a mom when you grow up?

I’ve obviously worked throughout my life. I’ve had retail, sales, food, and even manufacturing jobs. But that’s never what I wanted to do with my life.

When I was younger my little friend group would always call me “the mom of the group”. I was always prepared with snacks, bandages, water, and basically anything we could need. I was always the one taking care of others and making sure everyone was alright.
That was always my role in group activities. And I loved it.

I’ve always loved kids.
Growing up I had two siblings that were 8 years younger than me. That paired with a mother going through, what I now call, a mid-life crisis; I was the one looking after both of them. I did everything with those kids. Everything a mother should do. Fed, bathed, homework, cuddled, tucked them into bed, and took care of them when they were sick. All of it was me, from age 14–22 if we’re being honest. While I sometimes wish I had a regular childhood, I wouldn’t ever trade those days of being their “Mom”.

Earlier this year I was blessed with my own baby girl. My life feels complete. Like this was always what I was meant to do.

I have to say, sometimes I wish I was a full-time stay-at-home mom, but I also don’t mind working at my manufacturing job part-time.

Even at 28 years old, all I want to be is a mom.

I can’t be the only one out there whose dream was to just be a parent. Please tell me I’m not the only one.

I hope you liked the above story. If you did and want to receive my stories in your mailbox, you can consider subscribing to my email list here.

--

--