All I See Is Red

A tribute to the Soul of my Soul

Areebah M. Javed
Thought Thinkers
2 min readDec 13, 2023

--

Photo by Yousef Salhamoud on Unsplash

A war in the writing, innocents cry,
From graduations to eulogies unsaid, they die.
Families vanished, down in the rubble,
Peace, a dream in a fragile bubble.
Children lost, their innocence bled,
In this world of chaos, all I see is Red.

Can we ask for a ceasefire, a moment to breathe?
Hatred's grip, unbearable, beneath.
Despicable, the world turns its head,
In this sea of turmoil, all I see is Red.

Whether it's my hand or my brother's attire,
The guy who baked our bread caught in the fire.
Can't the world see the dread we tread?
In the ruins and debris, which maniacs led.
Survival's hope crushed, like a lilac's grace,
Dad laid to peace, in this haunting space.

All I see is Red, in this endless night,
A plea for mercy, for an end to this fight.
If I must die, let my story be said,
Kites above, in the sky, the soul of my soul's thread.

From the guy who wrote his fate,
Live to tell the story, beyond the hate.
See the kite flying high above,
A ghoul's soul, a mirror of my love.
In the echoes of the night, the demons are fed,
In the core of my being, all I see is Red.

For every child they took, a seed they sowed,
In the shadows, a new terrorist mode.
Now I know with clarity and concise,
If I live, I'll choose a side, no compromise.
Show the demons what it means to be led,
Into the darkness where all I see is Red.

From the river to the sea, Palestine will be free.

The media’s the most powerful entity on earth. They have the power to make the innocent guilty and to make the guilty innocent, and that’s power. Because they control the minds of the masses.
Malcolm X

--

--

Areebah M. Javed
Thought Thinkers

18 | Writing to level-up my productivity game - I own enough humor to deal with life | Twitter - @_A_Writes