An Intro to James Saint Simon

Who Am I and How Did I Get Here?

James Saint Simon
Thought Thinkers
2 min readSep 17, 2022

--

Why fit in when you were born to stand out? — Dr. Suess

Self Portrait by James Saint Simon when he should’ve been taking notes

I am excited to be writing for 3 Minute Thoughts!

I go by James Saint Simon and I’ve been telling stories for as long as I could speak but something changed when I learned to write. Now I wouldn’t hold people captive to hear my stories if they didn’t want to. For most of my life, I’ve been keeping my stories locked away in composition books collecting dust in my garage, but everything changed for me last year.

One life-altering doctor visit awakened my consciousness to my mortality and the finiteness of my life. Life forced me to push myself beyond the boundaries of my comfort and privacy to publish my work and it's the best thing I could have ever done.

Some personal things to know about me, I am a father of four children with my high school sweetheart. I went to Grad school for English to learn that I didn’t need to go at all to be a writer, but I can appreciate the invaluable nuggets that stuck. Books are my jam and my goal is to be a novelist but I am enjoying writing short stories and poetry. Poetry is new to me but it has been incredibly therapeutic for me.

You can expect to read some personal and intimate poetry from me as time allows. I look forward to reading more of your work as well. Thank you for taking me on with this great group of writers!

--

--

James Saint Simon
Thought Thinkers

Author, Poet, Business Owner, University Professor, and Education Reformer.