Compassionate Letter to Myself

Healing myself

BugsNBears
Thought Thinkers
2 min readJun 28, 2022

--

Photo by Hassan OUAJBIR: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-doing-hand-heart-sign-1535244/

Hello, lovelies! This is day 9 of writing every day for two weeks and today I want to share some of the healing I’ve been doing. I have self-compassion worksheets that I’ve been doing as I have the time for them. This is one of them.

The first step is to write about the things I dislike and the struggles I have and the second step is to write a letter to myself as if it's from an imaginary friend. This was originally private from everyone but I feel the need to share it and maybe connect with some of you. Please be kind and know that these wounds are fresh.

Step One ~ I often dislike my body, I feel like my ass isn't big enough and I'm stomach isn't the right shape, my face is too round and my neck is big. I’m unattractive and unfeminine. I’m unable to have a job or take care of myself and I'm incapable. I’m a bad friend, I hurt people and I'm abusive.

Step Two ~ Dear Milly,

I can tell you're struggling right now. Your body is changing and so are your relationships. I can see all that you are. Your bum is perfectly squishy and your stomach is wonderfully plump. Those new stretch marks are beautiful reminders of your building relationship with food, they add striking color to your body. You are soft and convey feminine beauty. Remember your body is changing to carry you for the rest of your life. As for financials, you’ve been working so hard on another aspect of yourself by completing the day treatment program, you have enough on your plate. When the time is right and work is something you can do I know you’ll do wonderfully. Milly, I know life has thrown many people your way and a number of them have been unkind. I know you think you're a bad person but I know you're heart. Everyone makes mistakes and you can learn from them. Many of the things you have been accused of do not sound like things you would ever do. Some people simply enjoy making others doubt themselves. Although you might not know who you are right now I want you to know that I do. I know you do you're very best to please others, that you want to bring peace where you go and you do not want to intentionally hurt anyone. You are loving and kind, feminine and beautiful, a very hard worker, a good friend, and a human worth love.

Learn to love yourself Milly

Sincerely Your friend

--

--

BugsNBears
Thought Thinkers

Amateur writer, artist, and tea and plant enthusiast.