Cosmic Crisp Apple Flavor

The perfect, fresh, crisp, near-magic and quite large, organic Cosmic Crisp Apple.

Abby Laporte
Thought Thinkers
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2024

--

photo of Cosmic Crisp Apple, by author, literally while writing this

I had a bag of flavorful chips, a perfect bodega breakfast sandwich bagel, and even seaweed snacks. It was an elaborate selection because I hadn’t eaten all day.

It was past midnight and I had finally arrived home.

And yet… All I could eat was the perfect, fresh, crisp, near-magic and quite large, organic Cosmic Crisp Apple.

The apple was huge. I opted for the organic edition; perfection ought to be honored with full perfection, in my opinion. I had the honor of first trying a Cosmic Crisp in 2020, while working (often in the produce section!) at Trader Joe’s.

The non-GMO, “classically bred,” absolutely excellent apple was first released to the public for sale quite recently; in 2019, the first round of Cosmic Crisp Apples hit stores. This is relatively recent, by the way. Considering that apples, more generally, were introduced approximately 750,000 years ago. An apple introduced a mere five years ago is, as such, almost hilariously new.

And no, this is not science fiction. It is a beautiful, thrilled, and wholly delicious reality.

When I tried my first bite, about four years ago, I was awe-struck.

--

--

Abby Laporte
Thought Thinkers

Standup Comic / Narrative Medicine MFA / SMI Representation Advocate / OCD / meditator / she/her mystic & millennial philosopher / SF Bay Area born & raised