Dark Web

Mildred X
Thought Thinkers
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2024

I was taking a walk one Thursday afternoon

and found myself frustrated

at the amount of times I unknowingly

walked through a spiderweb.

Brushing them off my bare arm,

I kept my pace calm.

Each time getting a little more annoyed than the last.

“how many freakin spiders are out here?!”

i wondered as i gazed upon my beautiful neighborhood.

“maybe if i focus hard enough, i’ll be able to avoid the next.”

then i realized the reality of the web

is meant to be undetected.

By the time you get close enough to see, it’s probably already too late.

“Well, all spiders aren’t poisonous, so I guess it’s no big deal.

I’ll just keep brushing them off.”

I continue on and begin to observe the nature of the web.

Spiders cannot constructs their homes without having something to attach to.

And with that, they’re able to multiply.

My skin begins to crawl as I ponder on the way darkness is able to thrive in society.

Hidden in plain sight under bright lights

endorsed by the greatest stars.

Poisonous or not, I’ll exterminate any spider that crawls into my home

attempting to turn what’s mine into “ours.”

“And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul?” — Mark‬ ‭8‬:‭36‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Inspired by this testimony

--

--

Mildred X
Thought Thinkers

[Certified Lover Girl] An expression of the image of God. Just another sensitive soul finding freedom writing.