Garden of Two Labyrinths

A Poem

James Saint Simon
Thought Thinkers
1 min readMar 21, 2024

--

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

Walking into the garden

My boots crunch the pebbled path

The peace is disturbed

And little creatures rustle in the bushes

.

Between the hedges flutters a green bird

His graceful movement and feathered freedom to be envied

No expectation anywhere no place for him to be

To gayly fly and exercise nature’s liberty

.

I’m out of place in this garden

That is plain to see

They cannot be themselves at all

Until I take my leave

.

I wander through the labyrinth

Of white little seashells

Circling around the red pebble ground

It’s small enough I won’t get lost

But this one within another

.

There is a larger labyrinth

With walls, tall and white

I can see the path before me

But I’m blinded around the bend

.

I fear I’m going in circles

Never to reach the end

Losing no sense of disturbance

My presence is unwanted

.

The maze is a prison

Or maybe it’s a path

To lead me out of suffering

Or to suffer for my past

.

I wish to be the green bird

To fly to peace and freedom

Until I get hungry

And terrorize the worm

--

--

James Saint Simon
Thought Thinkers

Linktree: https://linktr.ee/jamessaintsimon Author, Poet, Business Owner, University Professor, and Education Reformer.