Hi. It is me. No not me, Me!

Investigating Self

Ignorant View
Thought Thinkers
4 min readJul 17, 2022

--

Investigating self

I always found the idea of self intriguing. How do we not know who we are? Star signs are one of the earliest indicators of telling us who we are. We constantly try to learn more about ourselves, and when we think we know it all, a new situation arises, telling us we knew nothing at all. Are you an extrovert or an introvert? Are you a freak in the sheets or a vanilla virtuoso? This is not a new topic, and many scholars have written in-depth studies on who we really are. And since this is the Ignorant View, not a single article will be referenced.

In this introduction to the self series, I explore the intentions of the skill tree pathway and its purpose to improve self. My view on self is complicated. Who is this voice inside of my head? If this voice in my head had its own body, would it be me? And how does this voice in my head not classify me as schizophrenic?

Fortunately, a quick Google search informs me that schizophrenia typically involves hallucinations. This is not the case for me. Not until I try psychedelics. If I ever do it, it is because of Joe Rogan.

With a dose of Elk meat

I know you better than you know yourself

I am an indecisive, overthinking introvert, so I spend a lot of time in my head having discussions with this voice. Sometimes the voice comforts me. Other times it gives me severe anxiety resulting in panic attacks. Either way, the voice always feels contradictory. The phrase, go with your gut instinct is interesting. Is this gut instinct who I really am? How do I get to know this person more and listen less to this overbearing voice?

I believe this is what people mean by getting to know yourself. By taking these get-to-know yourself quizzes, we can understand why the voice in our head is saying these things. Whether that be the voice telling you to stay in bed and binge the new season of Brooklyn 99 because you failed your driving test (true story, one of the best things I did). Or the voice telling you to FOMO (fear of missing out) in a dodgy crypto NFT project because your friend just flipped £100 to £3000 in 2 weeks.

Psychology, neurology, and behavioural economics, are all practices by which I am deeply fascinated. Why we do things will be an ongoing question that I believe will never get an answer. We just try to learn a little bit more about ourselves. For centuries we have looked towards the stars to give us the answer. Since then, we have developed websites that sell us our hidden personality traits.

Personality quizzes

There is a reason services like these are successful. It is because by knowing who we are we feel more confident in the decisions we make. We better understand the emotions that affect our actions. We know when to listen to the voice and when not to.

16Personality type Advocate INFJ — T

The rise of mental health awareness addresses the need to cope with our toxic, crippling thoughts. Not being hell bound to these voices is liberating. The process of dating yourself requires time and patience. With all dates, there will be a few failed attempts. The thought will reveal itself, and be nothing like it said it would be. But the result of a successful dating story is self-love and self-compassion. A powerful trait that certifies our confidence in ourselves; better than anyone else could.

Self in the skill tree series

In my skill tree series, I follow a path that investigates the different facets of self, such as self-awareness, self-compassion, and self-esteem. The aim is to get a better understanding of who I am and develop areas of myself that I feel are lacking. Hopefully, by following me on this journey, you are able to reflect on yourself and discover something new.

--

--

Ignorant View
Thought Thinkers

I know nothing. So you may want to ignore this rant. @IgnorantView