I Felt Joy

Today I Felt Joy

BugsNBears
Thought Thinkers
2 min readJul 2, 2022

--

Photo by Markus Spiske: https://www.pexels.com/photo/light-art-abstract-glass-364495/

Hello, again lovelies! Today is day 12 of writing every day for two weeks, I’m two days away from my goal! Two weeks probably sounds short, but it felt pretty daunting to me at first. My readers have grown from 5 to 27! that's ridiculous! I’m so thankful for every one of you. I hope this number only continues to grow.

Today is a special day, it has nothing to do with the 1st of July or that it's a Friday or anything else like that. No, today is a special day because I laughed from my belly.

A loud cackling sound, followed by several snorts and chuckles. I smiled wide, so wide and for so long that my cheeks are sore. I am left hiccupping and with teary eyes as my laughter left me breathless and crying.

Today is a special day because I felt joy. An emotion that has evaded me. I’ve tried to catch joy as a child tries to catch a bubble floating in the air. Normally the bubble bursts before I can fully grasp it but today the bubble flew down my throat and made a home in my belly.

I laughed and played and giggled and finally caught the bubble called joy.

Its mine. For now.

I know that the bubble may burst soon; that seems to be what it does. But I will cherish my little joy for now and be thankful for the laughter it gave me.

Today is a special day because I am reminded that joy is not a figment of my imagination or hope to no avail. It is real and I am able to feel it.

I often miss out on the bubble of joy, I cant usually feel the emotion as though there's a wall blocking me from feeling it even though I know it's there. Feeling this joy means more than my laughs and my giggles it brings with it hope. Hope that I will be able to feel joy again. That joy happens. That joy might decide to stay on a more regular basis.

If you like reading this and would like to support please leave a clap or a follow.

--

--

BugsNBears
Thought Thinkers

Amateur writer, artist, and tea and plant enthusiast.