I ran, I run

Sunny X. Alexander
Thought Thinkers
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2024
Photograph generated by author using DALL:E by OpenAI

I found you

But I was afraid to chase

I was afraid that you were too fast

I was afraid that you would get away

Then you found me

And you wanted to chase

I didn’t move, my love

I had been waiting

We found each other

In the darkest of all rooms

Running up and down, all around

Reliving our childhoods

Wishing we had done everything together

Wondering how we were ever apart

Bringing voice to our deepest fears

Studying the depths of our hearts

But our world ended one morning

Maybe it was just mine

Maybe it only felt that way

But we both knew I was lost

I ran and ran

Up a mountain of despair

I ran and ran

Through a valley of depression

I ran and ran

Into the depths of myself

I ran and ran

Away from you

Though not before I told you, I would return

Not before I told you, this was temporary

But as I ran, you did too

And when I returned, you were gone

I am looking for you on the mountain

I am yelling for you in the valley

I am crying for you through my nights

I am praying for you through my days

I run and run

Miles in my mind

Looking for you

So we can be whole again

Thank you for reading! Click here to get email notifications for my future posts.

--

--

Sunny X. Alexander
Thought Thinkers

Writing about growing pains, beautiful sunsets, and love letters from another life.