PERSONAL ESSAY | CREATIVE WRITING

I Wasn’t Keen on Driving, But I Drove Anyway!

How to consistently show up for your writing craft despite your fears

Debi-Gold | Creative Writer
Thought Thinkers

--

Photo by andrea piacquadio

There is a popular saying in my country that if you could drive in Lagos, one of the states in the western part of Nigeria, then you could drive anywhere else.

Even after perfecting my driving skills and weeks of practice, I still got nervous each time I needed to drive. I imagined crazy things happening. Like me skidding off the road, or hitting my accelerator instead of the brakes. A lot of what ifs.

That didn’t deter me from driving. I drove nonetheless!

What was my motivation?

I believed in my ability. I had learned and practiced. I was familiar with all the road rules. So, I could do it!

I focused on my past wins. I remembered the many times I drove excellently, and courage began to slowly replace the fears. I chose to focus less on what could go wrong.

Courage does not come before you take an action, it comes while you take those steps in fear

Many writers have given in to fear and hoarded life-changing articles and ideas that could transform lives, out of fear. What if no one likes it? What ifs and endless what ifs?

The more I drove, the less anxious I got. The more you write, the more skilled you become. The more you publish and share your works, the bolder you become.

Ignore the part of your brain that keeps telling you, no one would read your work and just hit the send button! Easy-peasy! The lesser you focus on that negative voice, the less audible it becomes.

Focus more on that fact that you have the power to wield words capable of transforming lives. And entertaining fear will only limit you.

All I’m saying is, its okay to be afraid. Even the best writers and experts feel fear too. What is however not okay, is to give in to your fears.

One last bit of advice:

Make writing a lifestyle, not a chore. Write because it is something you enjoy and want to share with the world, not because you have to show up as a writer.

My name is Debi Gold, and I share my growth process as a burgeoning writer.

Enjoyed reading my articles? Subcribe to receive them in your mail box

--

--

Debi-Gold | Creative Writer
Thought Thinkers

Creative Writer | Sharing my journey from a burgeoning writer to an expert and helping newbies embrace their creative journey | https://linktr.ee/_debi.gold23