Inception

A dream

Fatima Naveed
Thought Thinkers
3 min readJul 13, 2022

--

“I have been standing here for a while now not knowing where I was. All around was this bright light as if I was dropped off in a desert with silence all around. After an hour or so I was finally able to see where I was. It was actually dark exactly where I was. It’s like one of those times when you think you are there in the present but you are actually not. As I was able to finally grasp of what was happening around me, I felt a hand holding into my flesh and pulling me backward way too quickly for me to even fight it. “

I was back in my bed. I got up and quickly inspected my body for where I have felt the hand but there was nothing there. I checked the clock to know what time it was and to my surprise, it was just 11 pm. Just an hour has passed but it felt like years. I got up, poured myself a glass of water, and went back to bed. As I lay there I quickly dozed off as if it was my time to head to the place of unknowns.

“I was standing in the darkness and in front of me was a big old mansion. A dark forest was surrounding that mansion from all four corners. I felt so strange why because I felt that I have been here before. I opened the door to the mansion and as soon as I stepped inside, I was struck by that bright light again. Wait, I thought to myself this has happened before. I have been struck by this kind of lighting elsewhere but where I could not decipher. Again, after a while everything got clear but this time, I didn’t feel someone pulling me back so, I kept on walking. Suddenly, I found myself standing on the porch of the mansion. And what I saw was a blooded path. I saw a man to whom I was calling out was Charlie and he upon seeing me coming towards him started asking for help. Now I was running but as soon as I was able to ask him anything. I felt that hand on the back of my body again. It clenched me harder this time and pulled me backward faster”

I was back in my bed. I got up quickly and inspected my body for where I have felt the hand but there was nothing there. I checked the clock and to my surprise again it was just 11:10 pm. But it felt like years has passed. It felt weirder this time. Maybe I am still inside a dream. Maybe my thinking right now is a part of the dream. Maybe my existence is nothing but a dream in itself. But who is the author and who is controlling me as I thought these questions to myself, I dozed off again?

--

--

Fatima Naveed
Thought Thinkers

I am a writer, a story teller and a fashion designer