Monsters Among Us

Consequences of Deception

Areebah M. Javed
Thought Thinkers
2 min readOct 5, 2023

--

Pinterest, credits to rightful owner

I thought I’d left you far behind,
But oh, I, was just so blind.
You were always a shadow, two steps ahead,
In the dark corners of my life, quietly you spread.

Warnings came, a chorus, stout,
But I dismissed them without a doubt.
Sealing windows subconsciously,
Haunted by your treacherous decree.

Monsters lurk beneath the beds,
Yet they wear human masks on their heads.
Myths of angels and demons unfold,
To conceal the true monsters we secretly hold.

We befriend them every single day,
Their words and deeds lead us astray, Throwing us beneath the bus,
In their betrayal, they make us cuss.

That fateful night, in the alley’s gloom,
I stood with a knife, impending doom.
Choices raced, a frantic flight,
But alas, too late to make things right.

As I confronted you for the final time,
I wondered if you’d orchestrated this dark paradigm.
Looking into your eyes oh so cold,
My heart felt drained of warmth, so old.

It wasn’t the blade I clenched in my grip,
But your words and deeds, the sinking ship.
I cast aside the weapon of your deceit,
To mend my soul, my heart’s steady beat.

You’ll witness my rise, strong, unwavering,
Despite your efforts, in the shadows you’re quivering.
I’ll endure this storm, bear this pain,
Till it turns on you, your own disdain.

When it engulfs you in its furious wrath, I’ll wish you a safe journey down this treacherous path.

--

--

Areebah M. Javed
Thought Thinkers

18 | Writing to level-up my productivity game - I own enough humor to deal with life | Twitter - @_A_Writes