The Doctor Who Became the Patient

“I WILL GIVE to my teachers, colleagues, and students the respect and gratitude that is their due”

Okiwelu Chinedu Anthony
Thought Thinkers
2 min readMar 21, 2024

--

CULLED from The Declaration of Geneva (2017), as currently published by the World Medical Association

https://tinyurl.com/2xmykbwa

As the clock struck 7 in the evening, the shrill ring of my phone shattered the calm of my evening. With a sense of urgency, I answered, my heart racing as I heard the voice on the other end, laden with worry and urgency. "Doc," they said, "we need you in the Accident and Emergency department. There’s a patient who needs your expertise urgently."

As I hastily dressed, my mind swirled with questions, but all I could glean was that a colleague had been in an accident. With a mix of dread and determination, I made my way to the hospital. The corridors echoed with the remnants of chaos, the scent of blood and desperation lingering in the air.

Approaching the bed where my injured colleague lay, I couldn’t help but feel a pang of empathy. This was someone who had dedicated his life to saving others, now in need of saving himself. As I listened to his story, my admiration grew for the countless lives he must have touched.

Reviewing his injuries, I felt a mix of relief and sorrow. Fractures, yes, but no life-threatening damage. Yet, the road to recovery would be long and arduous. As I delivered the diagnosis to his anxious family, I couldn’t ignore the weight of responsibility resting on my shoulders.

As I prepared to leave, my colleague's voice broke through the silence, filled with gratitude and wisdom. His words struck a chord within me, a reminder of the sacrifices we make in the name of our calling.

Reflecting on his words, I realized the true essence of our profession. It's not about the long hours or the meager pay. It's about the moments of connection, the lives touched, and the profound impact we have on those in need.

With a renewed sense of purpose, I embraced my colleague, silently thanking him for his service to humanity. And as I left the hospital that night, I carried with me a newfound appreciation for the privilege of healing others, no matter the cost.

--

--

Okiwelu Chinedu Anthony
Thought Thinkers

As a creative writer, I inspire individuals to become exceptional leaders, shaping better futures for their families and communities.