MOVIE REVIEW

The Super Mario Bros. Movie Review

A masterpiece of limited proportions

Ben Ulansey
Thought Thinkers
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Universal Pictures

It might just be the undying Nintendo fan in me, but leaving the theatre after seeing The Super Mario Bros. Movie, I can’t help but feeling as though I’ve gotten everything I could have ever wanted from a movie devoted to the beloved plumbers, and then some. But the truth is, I hadn’t even realized that I needed a Super Mario Bros. movie.

With the onslaught of bad adaptations of the last few years, I was leery when I initially heard word of it. As teaser trailers began to release, though, I began to see glimmers of what could be a long-overdue, actualized movie centered around The Mushroom Kingdom and the famed mustachioed brothers in overalls.

What seemed to be taking form in those early teasers was a fully formed realization of the fictional video game world in which I’d spent so much of my childhood. As its release date approached, I’ll admit that I felt the kid still alive within me beginning to tap his feet with excitement. To sit down in that theatre with my popcorn at my side and 3D glasses on, I struggled to contain myself a bit more than a 27 year old should.

While the movie wasn’t a masterpiece when compared with the likes of Forest Gump, Inception or Shawshank Redemption, there are enormous…

--

--

Ben Ulansey
Thought Thinkers

Writer, musician, dog whisperer, video game enthusiast and amateur lucid dreamer. I write memoirs, satires, philosophical treatises and everything in between 🐙