The ‘Wait a Day’ Writing Tip

Those fresh eyes can offer a considerable advantage

Michael John Scott
Thought Thinkers

--

Credit: Author/Dall-E-3

I’ve been writing for years, polishing my craft on Medium with the help of many great mentors. One key lesson I’ve learned is the importance of the rewrite.

Like most of us, I’m anxious to get published quickly. However, I don’t want to write an article or story that’s not my best. Despite this, I often did just that until I understood the value of patience.

My process involves developing an idea, drafting it, and incrementally changing words, sentences, and paragraphs to enhance it. After a quick final look and reread, I’d publish or submit it to a pub and wait for the editors.

Most articles are published within 24 hours, but some take up to a week, which can be frustrating. After three days, I sometimes shout, “Publish my story already!”

Then, I learned to turn those delays to my advantage. With fresh eyes, I would reread my submission the next day and often ask myself, “What was I thinking?” or “This needs work.” Small changes, like a single word or sentence, could significantly enhance the narrative.

It’s all about fresh eyes. Waiting a day or two can give the writer a new perspective on the structure. I confess to editing a story post-publication because I felt changes would…

--

--

Michael John Scott
Thought Thinkers

Professor Mike is a retired cop, veteran, and dog lover. He writes in a variety of genres, even politics. He teaches because he is too old to do anything else.