These 3 Simple Things Instantly Make My Life Happier

Anyone can do this! It’s crazy how we miss it out. Number 3 will come as a shock in more ways than one.

Kade Uy
Thought Thinkers
4 min readOct 20, 2022

--

Photo by Max Andrey on Unsplash

People have a weird habit of looking for solutions far away when the answer is right in front of them.

Some of the everyday ordinary things, when done right, can become very happy and satisfying moments.

If you’re intentional with these 3 simple things, you’ll appreciate life so much more.

1. Good Sleep

The older I get the more I appreciate this.

I know I’m only 27 but sleep is so precious to me now.

My precious!

5 hours was enough for me at college but now, I need a solid 7–8 hours everyday.

I never understood my parents for spending their precious Sunday afternoons by taking a good nap.

Now, I do.

It’s crazy how solid sleep can instantly make the world seem like a better place. Your mind is clearer, and you see everything with fresh eyes, literally and figuratively.

Good sleep instantly makes me happier.

I’m in a good mood. I love life. And I’m ready to take on the world!

Rest also contributes to productivity

If you love what you’re doing, it’s hard to rest because work becomes fun.

Before, it was playing the piano. I would practice straight till midnight with no care for the world and my energy. Now, it’s being a creator. I would get so entranced in what I’m writing about that I forget how tired I’m feeling.

I know I should be resting but you tell yourself you need to be productive. How many times has that happened?

It’s actually counterintuitive.

You don’t want to rest because you want to be productive. If you keep cranking it out even when your body is sending signals to rest, you’re deceiving yourself.

You continually work but the output isn’t great. Your mind keeps wandering off and you doze off.

You know what you should do?

Get some solid sleep and come back to life refreshed. You’ll feel so much better, and the quality of your work improves which also makes you feel better.

Sleep = Happiness

2. Good Food

Food, glorious food!

This gives an instant mood boost.

My wife and I always make it a point to eat good food together whether in a restaurant or at home.

Good food gives both of us a pleasure that we cannot give each other, and yet, the pleasure does not suffice if we are not with each other.

Why do I get so philosophical with food?

There’s just that magic about good food. It doesn’t even have to be expensive, although spending for a 6-course omakase-style experience is definitely worth it once in a while.

One of my guilty pleasures is fried chicken, which I eat almost every week. It’s one of those food that stimulates all the senses at once.

See the beautiful golden brown batter that coats it. Smell the aroma as it comes out fresh from the fryer. As you bite into it, your mouth feels that crispy skin and your ears tingle at the melodic crunch. You taste heaven.

Am I still talking about fried chicken?

A moment of mindfulness

What kind of food makes you happy?

Make time and budget for that once in a while. Have some pure unadulterated delight. Enjoy it by yourself or with your loved ones.

And you’ll remember what matters in life.

Food = Happiness

3. Good Dump

Get past shi**y social standards and let’s talk about this without shame.

You never hear others talk about the pleasure of a good dump, but you always hear how agonizing it is to not get that royal flush regularly.

Remember that feeling when your stomach is so full and you feel extremely sluggish, and then you sit on your great white throne and everything vanishes in one fell swoop?

Feel that electric rush in your body that not even Nikola Tesla can replicate.

I get goosebumps from that.

How come no one has ever talked about this?

I know it sounds a bit silly and vulgar but in all honesty, it really is a deep simple pleasure that I’m grateful for.

Like good sleep and good food, a good dump instantly makes me happier.

Lethargy flees as the loud thunder brings with it a freshness of life.

That sweet inedible honey oozing out heals us from the heavy load, and leaves us with happiness.

This is really about mindfulness

We are all seeking happiness from things we do not have.

And that is part of the great journey of life.

But take time to pause and be mindful.

The grass may be greener on the other side but that doesn’t mean we can’t have pleasure in the pasture where we’re at now.

--

--

Kade Uy
Thought Thinkers

Writing on the intersection of passion, profit, and purpose.