Too Sensitive for Your Ignorance

An Oral Rant

BugsNBears
Thought Thinkers
3 min readJun 29, 2022

--

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko: https://www.pexels.com/photo/angry-woman-in-beige-t-shirt-near-red-background-8727582/

My older family members seem to think I’m overly angry or too sensitive, my dad often changes my name from Milly to Police because apparently, I’m constantly monitoring everything happening around me at any given point. I’m no longer a safe place for my family to make offensive jokes.

The people around me often tell me to lighten up or say “come on Milly that was hilarious”. My response is always, “oh I’m sorry, explain to me how your sexist joke, racist joke, ableist joke, or otherwise demeaning joke was funny, it seems I’ve missed your knee-slapping attempt at amusement”.

My family says “Society won’t change with the snap of a finger Milly!”, and I’m given the common argument that by telling someone not to make racist jokes I’m erasing history. Please, I wish. I wish I could erase all the horrible things that we as a society have collectively done to others and onto ourselves.

They tell me I care too much, I’m too invested, and when I get older I won’t have the energy to be so angry about everything so I might as well smile now or my face will crinkle with all my pointless frustrations. Because… it’s funny, it’s just a joke, I’m only kidding, there’s nobody in the room who would be offended.

When their adult arguments have been exhausted and I still don’t think it’s funny, they tell me that I’m cute when I’m mad. And it’s not just my family who dismiss me like that, it’s not just adults who have, quote-unquote, so much more life experience than me, it’s my peers who think the r slur is hilarious. It’s my peers who enjoy using the n slur while playing video games. It’s my peers who say, “ it’s not my place to tell them what they’re doing is wrong, I’m not the one saying it”.

People are asking to be congratulated for reaching the bar of being a decent human being when The. Bar. Is. On. The. Damn. Floor. Here, have a cupcake and a banner that says I haven’t said a slur all day. I’m sure other students are slightly bothered because of the girls in the cafeteria who videotape other students having a bad day, or how about those boys in that one class who say they’re gonna beat up as many gays as they can before the school year ends.

What about those teachers who make sexual innuendos to their students or who stair a little too long. See there are a lot of things I’m angry about. There are a lot of things you should be angry about. My apologies if my basic ideas of human decency slap your rear on the way out.

Hello, Lovelies! This is day 10 of writing every day for two weeks and so far things have been amazing. I’ve got 20 followers now! I’m thankful for every one of you! If you liked this story please drop some claps or a follow ;).

--

--

BugsNBears
Thought Thinkers

Amateur writer, artist, and tea and plant enthusiast.