Things I Learned from the Series, “Before the Coffee Gets Cold”

This is my bookworm introduction to the series.

Janier Chua
Thought Thinkers
3 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Photo by Nong on Unsplash

I love reading. I used to read on my phone, but it hurt my eyes and slowed my progress. In Singapore, we get free access to Libby with our NLB membership card. I recently bought a Kobo Clara Color e-reader, which I highly recommend (#notsponsored). With the Kobo Clara, I can sync books from the Libby app and read them quickly.

The recent series I’ve read is the translated Japanese novel “Before the Coffee Gets Cold” by Toshikazu Kawaguchi. There are five books available so far, and I’ve read four.

Cover page of the book #1, from google.com

Summary of the Series — Before the Coffee Gets Cold

The series revolves around a small, quaint Japanese café tucked away in a Tokyo alley. It might not seem the most appealing place, but it offers a unique opportunity: the chance to travel through time — to the past or the future.

However, there are strict rules for time travel:

  • You can only meet people who have visited the café.
  • No actions will change the present reality. For instance, if a loved one has died in an accident, that remains unchanged.
  • You have only one chance to time travel, and you must wait for a specific seat to be vacant.
  • Once you travel back in time, you cannot leave the seat, or you’ll return to the present instantly.
  • You must finish your coffee before it gets cold, or the consequences are dire

Each book in the series presents several short stories about customers who choose to time travel, knowing the reality will remain unchanged.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

What I Thought About the Series After I Read the Books

I love reading imaginative and thrilling fiction. Books about romance or anything too close to reality aren’t my usual preference. This series, however, isn’t my favorite genre, yet I liked the simplicity of the stories, which made them easy to read.

I really enjoyed the first book. It was interesting and made me think about how someone could create such a unique concept and write stories that shift perspectives on life.

When I picked up the second book, I felt it was a bit repetitive, with the same concept and similar descriptions, but with slight variations in the story. However, I finished it and didn’t dislike it. I appreciated how the author continued developing the main characters in the café and their unfolding stories. The third book was my favourite so far, introducing a change of setting and characters.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Would I recommend the series?

Yes! One hundred percent. Despite my love for thrilling stories, I continued reading the series and appreciated what I learned. I highly recommend these books for anyone looking for a light read. They fill my heart and made me realize that even if reality remains unchanged, altering our perspective can transform how we view it. This change in mindset can influence our approach, willpower, and the miracles life offers.

Thank you for reading my book rant again.

Until my next article, please always have faith, never stop dreaming and keep shining.

I appreciate you and your time. 💚

Thank you for reading.

You can find me on Instagram (@janierc)

--

--

Janier Chua
Thought Thinkers

Dreamer. Educator. Freelancer. Curious learner. Aspiring Musician - With every article, I aspire to inspire others to join me in this everlearning journey.