What I Realized After Using Medium?

Articles are not for me!

Khadija Iqbal
Thought Thinkers
3 min readAug 28, 2022

--

I just realized that Medium is not for me. Don’t get me wrong, I like writing. Hell, I love it. I remember when I started writing blogs on Medium, I was ecstatic. I still am. Gosh, I loved that feeling while I was writing. But the thing is that I want to write whenever I feel like it. I don’t want to write for the sake of writing.

I want to write for the sake of peace, and happiness and as a love for myself. I can’t believe but a smile has appeared on my face without even realizing it, I feel truly loved.

I don’t want to be caught up in the race of writing regularly. After writing my last article, probably 10 days ago, I was stressed about what to write next. I ran out of things. I could be writing about any topic after researching but that’s not my thing. I don’t enjoy that.

The sole purpose of joining Medium was to get my thoughts out. So, then I gave myself a break from writing. As long as I want. Because I want writing to be a fun time for me rather than a punishment or stress. So, I’ll just write whenever I feel like it. My university is opening in a few weeks, so then I might have a lot to vent out about hahaha.

Another thing I realized from Medium is that I don’t like reading articles! I don’t want to offend anyone with this statement but articles are the least of my interest. I got bored. And that’s why I am not engaging with anyone. It’s been a week since I have even opened the app.

I DO LOVE READING! I can’t spend a day without it but I love reading novels. I used to have physical books but somehow shifted to ‘Wattpad’. Gosh, it’s embarrassing to even admit that. After the Wattpad phase, I read a lot of online novels.

Then there was this fanfiction I was obsessed with and still am. Can you believe that I have spent two years re-reading the same fanfic again and again? And I wasn’t satisfied with anything else. It’s been more than two years and the author hasn’t updated another chapter. I am broken but she is still the best.

Now I have again shifted back to physical books because I am not satisfied with reading online. I have ordered five more books and I am super excited.

So yeah, this was pretty much all going through my head and life nowadays. I even got bored from using my phone all day and started to read the novels that I have ordered. But then I realized, more than using social media, it was the reading that made me addicted to my phone.

Yesterday, I asked my mom what is better while pointing at my phone and novel. She said, “Obviously, books! They are like your companion in solitude.” I was like good because I have just ordered a few books, so please pay for that. This was the first time she didn’t get angry about ordering online.

So, this is mostly what I want to share. I’ll just write at my own pace for my own sake!

--

--

Khadija Iqbal
Thought Thinkers

Ayoo! I just love to dwell on the topic of feelings.