You Can Only Change If You Want To

Step Out Of Your Comfort Zone Once In A While

Melanie Jackson
Thought Thinkers
2 min readSep 12, 2023

--

Photo by Coen Staal on Unsplash

The world will not come to you.

I have been in my chosen profession within healthcare for over twenty years now.

I’m becoming older, yet too young for retirement.

After an episode of illness earlier on this year I returned to my role within healthcare.

I noticed a few changes within the department, some things hadn’t. There was also new faces. However, I soon found myself with the feeling of being ‘dragged down’.

I had promised myself prior to retuning following the sickness episode, that I would ensure a work life balance for myself.

This ended up being short lived.

Based on the return to work experience I stating asking myself questions.

What had changed for me over the past ten years?

Where did I want to be or what did I want to be doing within the next ten years?

Call it a midlife crisis or simply my unhappiness with life, I know I needed to make changes.

There’s a whole world out there.

The mundane can wait.

I discovered medium during the sickness episode. I enjoy being on here. Sometimes I blog. Sometimes I write short poems.

I have learnt so much about myself from reading other peoples work. Words of wisdom from so many writers.

It is also a great opportunity to express yourself 24/7.

I am broadening my horizons as a result.

I now have the confidence to leave my comfort zone. I know that there is so much of life to explore.

I want change.

I embrace it.

Feeling empowered can make all the difference.

It needs to be done!

Photo by Courtney Cook on Unsplash

I like to write from experience and with authenticity, and hope it resonates with others 😊

--

--