Goosebumps

Tribute to My Careless Heart

Lothbrock Ameen
Thoughtful Stories
3 min readJun 11, 2024

--

Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

I put a hard stop on my short story today. A war was occurring within me.

I’m exhausted mentally, and I feel like I’m going crazy about what the book cover should look like.

I’ve been studying the best frameworks to make it more readable and enjoyable, but now, I’m going to just look at it, and do nothing.

I’m bugged with a concern that I don’t exactly write the things I want to.

I have other concerns. I’ve been more sleepy at the office. I enjoy working in the evenings. I find it satisfying. It’s weird. I know.

While I stare at my screen for hours during the day, I’m more interested in the work as soon as everyone leaves the office building.

It’s almost like an empty workspace. With chairs spaced unevenly.

The vending machine is just beside the water dispenser. They both sit under a well-lit spot that also serves as a kitchen or say…where we sit to eat lunch.

I like lying on the couch while my mind wanders around the things I observed today.

I noticed that there is a life you don’t know about under every Lagos bridge. A whole community and its leaders are right there! There is territoriality and a fight for supremacy. In a free space.

The lights under the bridge at the Surulere Stadium bus stop got fixed, and everywhere was bright even at night. You’d see them. Yes! You’d see that community.

There is a regular church service every Sunday under the bridge at Shitta roundabout. The white chairs are neatly arranged. The preacher speaks through a PA system, and offerings are collected afterward.

It’s the same story for Ojuelegba (under the bridge) on Sunday mornings.

Enough of my unnecessary observations.

I’m lying on a couch again.

There are two people left to leave this office building…

I’m tired of eating this gum. It has succeeded in keeping me awake for the past 2 — 3 hours now.

I have work deliverables to send out later this evening. My thoughts have been well laid out within the sheets of an Excel workbook. With colors stating Pass and Fail.

I want to tell you a story…

But you’d have to be patient with me

‘Why didn’t you just tell me instead?’ She said

‘Tell you what?’

‘That you didn’t want to be with me…why are you telling someone else?’

This conversation made me pensive

There is no Awoof love in Lagos, or anywhere

You’re either patient enough to find someone you want to be with

Or risk the death of simple actions

The gestures are not for free. Pay attention.

Don’t take, if you cannot give.

That’s all about this story.

For now, I’m just trapped within myself. Not rushing to leave the office because I’ll be going to an empty house with proper lighting, and silence.

I’d grab food from Bukka Hut just like yesterday.

The days go quickly these days.

I need to talk to someone. Today, tomorrow, or this weekend.

--

--