Children Win via Pixabay

Making the Most out of Medium

How I was incredibly wrong about this platform and how to get more from being a part of the community.

Thoughtless Opinions
4 min readDec 13, 2018

--

I joined Medium in 2013. At the time, I was still not confident in myself as a writer. I didn’t really think anyone would be interested in reading what I put up, but I made a few articles and posted them with varying degrees of success.

In my younger, more brash, days I wrote a piece called, “The Death of Medium: Or How Marketing Will Ruin a Good Thing”. Fresh off an adrenaline boost from mainlining Gary Vee videos, I thought I understood something about the future of Medium. Gary espoused the phrase, “marketers ruin everything” in many of his earlier videos and I ate it up. The fact that Medium felt like the garden of Eden at the time, I could only imagine how soon marketing professionals, like myself, would swoop in and bite the forbidden fruit, ruining it for everyone. The article even got a response from Ev Williams, who gracefully and politely, explained why he believed I was incorrect.

Thankfully, I was completely wrong about the direction Medium would take as a platform.

A while after my revelatory article, I fell off the Medium train and didn’t post another article for almost five…

--

--

John Dietrich
Thoughtless Opinions

Marketer, Writer, Dad. Often wrong, but always willing to listen. Sharer of Thoughtless Opinions.