Organic SaaS Growth

Where To Host Your Business Blog?

Should you host it on platforms like Medium or on your own domain?

Ankur Tiwari
Thoughtlytics

--

“Should we host the marketing blog on our domain or platforms like Medium?”

When a SaaS founder first shared their dilemma with me, I thought it to be a no-brainer at first.

Of course, you host it on your domain. 🤦

But then they explained:

“If I host it on my domain, I will control list building and gain SEO over time. But no one knows my website, and I will have to invest resources in content distribution separately.”

“On the other hand, if I host it on Medium, I can benefit from its distribution and recommendation algorithms but will not own the audience.”

Suddenly, the answer was not so straightforward. 🤔

I ran experiments until I figured out the winning solution. It’s the Alpha Content Hub strategy.

It brings the best of both worlds.

🔥 It lets you gain SEO juice over time, own your audience, and still benefit from the distribution power of Medium.

Here is how you can do it:

  1. Publish a blog post on your domain.
  2. Re-Publish the same content on Medium with canonical links back to your original post. It will ensure that search engines index the original post and give your SEO power.
  3. Add a lead magnet on the Medium post that takes the readers to your website if they want to access it. Build your distribution infrastructure by building an email list.

✔️ Bonus Tip 1: Post only top of the funnel content on Medium.

✔️ Bonus Tip 2: Whenever possible, create a few Medium-only posts and submit them to mid-sized Medium publications. Do this until you build a sizeable following.

Get long-form, in-depth SaaS growth strategies and research in your inbox. Join Organic SaaS Growth newsletter.

--

--