#DinerTour17

Re-Awakening My Inner Kid

Sumeet Shah
Thoughts _ Feeds
2 min readDec 27, 2016

--

So, 2016 ended on a really good note for me (Haymakers, promotion, first Christmas with Sir James of Kitteh, etc.). But this year’s major deaths, the emotional frustration/anger/sadness without any further action taken from people re: election, and other things are really dampening my outlook for the year.

(Talk about being conflicted, eh? :-/ )

That said, I realize what we are entering a brave new world next year. And, in my honest opinion, we all became too comfortable this year which is why we’re about to enter that world.

Kids ask “Why?” and “How?” so often, not to be annoying, but that they’re genuinely curious.

Why is the sky blue?

Why is the grass green?

Why do chocolate chip cookies taste so good?

Unfortunately far too many of us, regardless of political leanings, when people ask about things that are politically driven, usually responded “Because.” or “Why not?” We assumed too much, we were comfortable with the way things were and are. Because of that comfort, only half of this country voted, not enough people actually stepped out to get people out to vote, and we are now in this brave new world, whether we like it or not.

So what now? Can we bring back our inner kids?

Yes we can.

Allow me to introduce you to #DinerTour17:
the way I’m re-awakening my inner kid.

I’ve been very fortunate to have parents who taught me to question things, to be curious, to learn as much as I can. I’ve been brought up (and will teach my kids down the line) to respect everyone, to practice non-absolutism, that even if we disagree on our opinions, we can respect each other’s. This great country’s backbone is full of amazing men and women who are struggling in their own ways and I want to learn more about them and how I can help.

And after a bit of thought, to me, the linchpin of where I can meet these great people is the cornerstone of Americana is the D I N E R.

No agenda. No prerogative. Just curiosity.

Throughout 2017, I’ll be visiting diners and doing my best to write down the stories of various men, women, children, and families across this great country. I’ll slowly post them over the year. I gladly invite those to come join me AS LONG as you respect the non agenda code.

I truly believe that we together as Americans, as human beings, make this country great. We together can also bring this country the hope, love, and solutions it deserves.

I wish the most wonderful love and good tidings for each and one of you this holiday season and into the new year.

Now let’s get to work.

(And, of course, if you liked this, please hit that big ‘ol Heart button!!)

--

--

Sumeet Shah
Thoughts _ Feeds

Looking at the next big consumer brand by day. Moving around in the boxing ring by night.