Fur Therapy, Part II: Long Live Sir James!

Sumeet Shah
Thoughts _ Feeds
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2016

A few years ago, I wrote about my time at Animal Haven, the awesome shelter in Soho, and how it saved my life and helped me battle my bouts with depression and suicide. Since then, I’ve watched that wonderful shelter grow into a powerhouse and continue to do good in the community.

However, I still battle with both areas. It’s never easy to fight it, and it’s often a losing battle.

So when I finished my time and continued along my career, I had still really hoped to adopt a little furry best friend of my own, especially after the number of times I came THISCLOSE to bringing one from Animal Haven home!

Dis throne iz myne

…enter James.

Last September, in the Ridgewood section of Queens, a little black and white kitten followed my friend Liya and her friends home, as she was preparing for a photo shoot for her startup WEST x EAST which she co-founded with her colleague Tania. They assumed it was a little bodega cat who got excited to see people; a lot of bodegas in the area had little felines. However, this little dude kept following them home, mewing along the way…to Liya’s apartment building. They got to the door, about to enter, and the little kitten just sat in front of them, with its meows seeming to sound like cries.

The girls were devastated and heartbroken. They realized this kitten didn’t have a home. That said, there were risks, since they didn’t know anything about this little dude. That said, compassion took over and they took the kitten in, got him some tuna, and built a litter box.

Erin, the girl doing makeup (and very much a dog person — she has a chunky chocolate lab named Bill), started playing with the kitten and was having a blast. The girls, observing the two, asked what they should name him. Erin took a long look at the kitten (who looked back) and said…

“James. He seems like a James to me.”

That stuck like glue. Liya’s only pet she ever had was a cat named Jimmy.

The little fuzzball, shortly after he came home.

A few days later, because Liya couldn’t keep the kitten (due to roommates and a slight allergy), one Uber ride in a tote bag later, James became my unofficial roommate. I was nervous; I had ALWAYS wanted a cat in my life, and James basically came into my life by accident. Was he going to like me? Was he excited to be here? Does he think I’m cool???? (Yes, I openly asked this.)

Broz

(I think it worked out, guys.)

To say that James has changed my life is an understatement. This month officially marks my first year with this little dude, who has grown into an adorable chubby cheesesteak. He waits for me at home, meows at me and cuddles with me when I get in the door, and helps me wake up by nuzzing my face, nibbling my nose and hair, and hanging out with me across the room as I get ready for the day.

HI DAD, I IZ KEWL

Fur therapy truly is one of the best therapies. While my time at Animal Haven was life-changing to work with wonderful animals, it’s something else to have one of them truly be part of your family and daily life.

(Oh, one more thing: Sir James is on Instagram. Go follow him and his adventures! Also find pics via my Instagram and the hashtag #jamestagrams.)

--

--

Sumeet Shah
Thoughts _ Feeds

Looking at the next big consumer brand by day. Moving around in the boxing ring by night.