What I’ve Been Learning — Dec 2021

Alice Evans
thoughts-by-humans
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2022

Over at Taught by Humans, a big part of our ethos is our love of learning. Learning tech-related things, yes, but also just constantly learning news things and improving on what we already know. Each month we are going to give a short update on what we’ve been learning. What follows here is mine for December 2021.

As a final-year undergraduate student, Christmas was a long-awaited and appreciated break from an incredibly busy December for me. The month was full of coursework deadlines, including a dissertation project which I completed in the final week of term. I have enjoyed the past few weeks as a chance to focus on some of my hobbies as well as learning new skills and knowledge to bring to my role at Taught By Humans.

Korfball

One of my pastimes that I have leaned into heavily in recent months has been playing Korfball with the University of Bristol’s Korfball Society. Translated as ‘Basketball’ from Dutch, this sport is similar to netball, except it is played in two divisions, without positions and with a 3.5 metre tall basket which can be shot at from any angle, including from behind.

December was a month that brought BUCS (British Universities & Colleges Sport) Qualifiers. It was an opportunity to play a series of competitive matches surrounded by coaches from many different Universities in the South West. As a result, I managed to improve many of my skills and learned much more about gameplay and strategy, as well as getting to know my team better. Our team finished in third place and are going on to play in the BUCS Regional Tournament in a few weeks!

The University of Bristol Korfball First Team at BUCS Qualifiers

Research and Critical Reading

It would be nonsensical in a blog post about the things I have been learning not to talk about my degree, since it takes up so much of my time and has taught me so much. The project that I learned the most from last term was my dissertation on ‘Memory and Personal Identity’.

This was the first time I have done self-guided learning to the level that was expected by my lecturers. I had to improve my ability to focus and use my initiative, whilst knowing when to tap into the wide knowledge of my supervisor and his other colleagues for support. This project also allowed me to build on my ability to read texts, articles and papers critically and, more broadly, carry out philosophical research. Most importantly, though, I learnt lots about the issue of personal identity in the philosophy of mind, as well as the experiences of sufferers of memory loss, including Alzheimer’s patients.

Social Media Strategy

Since my internship with Taught By Humans began in June last year, I have learnt a lot about digital marketing and social media. This was made possible especially through our work with IPSA, and Cath and Yas.

Two graphics from recent posts on Instagram

However, I am always trying to learn more about the topic and about my role. Laura and I are currently in the process of designing a social media strategy that plays into the strengths of each platform that we use. Whilst Laura has been researching the best ways to use LinkedIn and Twitter, my focus has been on improving our presence and image on Instagram. Hopefully you will notice the results of our work in the coming weeks!

Caving

Last term, as a getaway from University work on a cold weekend, I went on a caving trip with the University of Bristol Spelaeological Society to the Mendips. With a few other students (pictured below) I conquered two different caves, learning lots about the sport along the way.

One of my favourite things about the trip was coming to understand the history behind the fascinating shapes and forms of the caves, and how they fit into the surrounding landscape. The Mendips are a truly beautiful area and the caves underneath them are no exception.

Standing Outside Goatchurch Cavern in the Mendips

We are always learning, and want to share our passion for learning (about everything, not just tech) in this monthly blog series.

--

--

Alice Evans
thoughts-by-humans

University of Bristol graduate exploring the world of digital communications, design and marketing