Life can change suddenly

Jack Mohr
Thoughts Collected
Published in
3 min readOct 22, 2019
Jack Mohr

We are in less control than we like to admit, our lives can change in ways we don’t even understand. We don’t know what the future holds unless we have something planned, but even then, plans can change suddenly.

In the blink of an eye, our lives can change. For good and bad reasons, I’ve always known this, but you don’t truly know this until something outstanding happens in your life. Much like anything in life, we learn from our mistakes.

The obvious examples are death or anything life-threatening. I want to talk about two experiences that I’ve been through recently.

The first one was almost life-threatening, I was involved in a car accident, where the car in front of me hit a kangaroo (Aussie problems hey) and I went straight into the back of them. It was on a country road as I was going to take photos of the stars. If either of us had done anything different we’d be extremely messed up, physically and possibly mentally. If I had gone left to avoid the other car I would have gone over the edge of the road and rolled down a hill a few times and goodness knows what would have happened to me or all of my camera gear. Second, if they had gone left or right then they could have rolled and the same result. The chances of us dying isn’t super high but anything could have happened so the result that actually occurred with was probably the best one even though both cars have been written off. Long story short, everyone is okay (nobody panic).

Now, the second example happened the next day/week, it’s kind of crazy and it was completely life-changing.

I met somebody.

You know when you meet somebody and you know they’re going to change your life? Well, that’s exactly what happened. In all honesty, I knew from the minute we started talking that she would change my life. It’s been a while since that first day and I was 100% right, she’s changed my life and I’m so thankful to have her in my life. If I looked back 2 months ago, or even 12 months, I never thought I would be in this position right now, I never thought I could be as happy as I am right now.

My point is, we are not in control, we have no idea what tomorrow could bring or what could happen in the future, for some that can scare the shit out of them, for me, it excites me. I have never looked forward to the future this much and I have never valued life so highly. My mentality toward life has changed.

Changes like these shape who we are, they shape us as people and they shape our values. It’s important to remember who we are and that life can change within seconds.

Also, while I have your attention, I’ve been struggling from a bit of writer’s block, which no surprise there has been a lot happening in my life recently. I was so close to scrapping this article but I decided to publish anyway. I’ve got a bunch of ideas I’ve been working on so I hope I can find some time to write them up and finish them.

Article by Jack Mohr

www.jackmohr.com.au

If you haven’t already, follow the Thoughts Collected Publication on Medium:

https://medium.com/thoughts-collected

We’re also on Facebook, which is basically the one-stop-shop for staying up to date with every thought collected.

https://www.facebook.com/thoughtscollected

In case you didn’t know we run a podcast, and you can listen to us wherever you get your podcast, but here’s a link to our Spotify

https://open.spotify.com/show/0mXkX8nygCxAd8pVOYzx5h?si=bycaawgRSZKF89pbcatgEQ

If you’d like to join in on the conversation you can join us on Anchor:

https://anchor.fm/thoughtscollected

--

--

Jack Mohr
Thoughts Collected

Canberra based Photographer, Real Estate Agent and Content Creator, with a passion for commercial photography and other freelance services. www.jackmohr.com.au