Jumping out of a Conflict and into the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Tale of Bosnia and Herzegovina

How my holiday gave me perspective on my country’s handling of the pandemic

Tamara Naidoo
THOUGHTS

--

Photo by Darcey Beau on Unsplash

Where ever you are in the world, mistakes and miscalculations have been rife in handling the Covid-19 pandemic. Looking for a budget adventure holiday, I had low expectations for the former war-torn country Bosnia and Herzegovina, but it did not fare as badly as I guessed. More than that, the reality check helped me gain some perspective on how I judged my own country. Here are some key points with which to compare your own country.

1. The Government’s Severe Lockdown in BiH

The people of Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) find themselves twenty-five years after the Dayton peace accords fighting a new threat, the COVID-19 pandemic. On the 5th of March BiH recorded its first case of Covid-19 located in the second largest city and de facto capital of Republika Srpska entity, Banja Luka. Adopting a severe response by the 17th of March, the government declared a state of emergency - closing schools and non-essential business, prohibiting large gatherings, banning minors under 18 years old and the elderly over 65 years from leaving their homes, in addition closing its borders and installing a…

--

--

Tamara Naidoo
THOUGHTS

Global-Scale Thinker, an everyday girl in international relations