You’re a Racist If…

Why the most well-meaning among us tend to be ignorant about our cultural differences.

Joel Eisenberg
THOUGHTS
Published in
7 min readJan 31, 2020

--

Photo by Matteo Paganelli on Unsplash

I love this Levy’s ad campaign. Levy’s Bakery was founded in Brooklyn in 1888 by Russian-Jewish immigrant Henry S. Levy, and sold to Connecticut’s Arnold Bread in 1979. This marketing campaign ran in New York in the 1960s and was hugely popular.

I was born and raised in Brooklyn, the oldest son among two siblings, each of us born three years apart.

We had and have presently, though my dad passed nearly a decade ago, a loving and supportive family unit.

I am a Jew, not at all religious but proud of my culture.

You don’t know my culture, unless you’re a fellow MOT (Member of the Tribe), but looking at the above ad we sure were appropriated.

And wonderfully so. We belong to everybody, and we are all equal.

But …

Every weekend when I was a teen my family and I would go out for Chinese food. Either lunch or dinner.

When my grandparents were over, this was a familiar refrain: “What time are we going for…

--

--

Joel Eisenberg
THOUGHTS

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.