My Google Journey (10)

Diana K. Chen
Thoughts from Diana’s KitChen
3 min readJun 8, 2017

Day 10 (6/6)

An overhead view of one of Google’s many gardens — and yes, there are actual fruits and vegetables growing there!

Activities:

  • Watched and read resources about communication and soft skills
  • Completed part of a “Design of Everyday Things” workshop
  • Attended first team weekly meeting
  • Submitted my second PR!

What I Learned Today:

  • “Human mistakes” are really design mistakes. This concept was entirely new to me because I felt like it was always implied that the user is usually at fault whenever they misunderstand or misuse a project. However, after hearing this idea, I totally understand how it makes sense. I’ve always been a strong advocate for user-focused design, and now I believe in it even more. Design dictates how a user will use an element, and good design don’t require instructions (or at least that many).
  • Employers like to look for employees who can develop new work processes. I read this in one of the recommended articles about soft skills and I was surprised to see this on the list. While I always knew that employers like to hire those who take initiative and actively try to solve problems, it also feels good knowing that systems development can be a skill I bring up in future interviews.
The Google Ventures Building

Reflection:

While most of the day was spent coding, it feels incredibly satisfying knowing that I also have access to a virtually unlimited amount of resources that can help me learn and develop whenever I am not programming. I feel like I fit in with the culture here because of the constant support and love of learning that the entire company provides. It’s also great because my team also openly supports and encourages me to learn and grow on my own as well. In previous internships, I think my other teams would have encouraged me as well, but there just wasn’t as much opportunity. I guess that’s one of the benefits of working at a large company that is focused around making data accessible.

Speaking of which, I think this internship might also change my mind about the kind of workplace I want to work in — specifically, how large of an organization. Before coming to Google, I probably would have told you that I really would strictly prefer working for a smaller company due to the personalization and closeness between its employees. But now that I’ve experienced working in a small, close-knit team in an expansive company, I truly feel like I have the best of both worlds. I guess it doesn’t hurt that there is a strong culture fit, but it’s also nice knowing that I have all the resources I could ever need at my fingertips and I still have the chance to feel like I fit in.

--

--