B.amba
Thoughts, Haptics and Truths
2 min readFeb 12, 2018

--

jez timms @ Unsplash

Why I Finally Came Out of the Closet

It’s a simple story

I am a young lawyer who has written more poetry than legal drafts in all my study and practice of Law. I enjoy writing satirical, faith based and inspirational poetry. Although I started writing at 12, and have written an average of 250 poems(quality not in question:), I had never been published or entered a poetry contest (although I had published other non-poetry pieces).

In 2017, it all changed. I got published in a Magazine, entered 2 contests and joined Medium. This meant, I had finally overcome whatever fear I had of putting my work out there; winning or not winning. It was like I was in a closet. I said no to every attempt however minute to field my expressions. But now, I wear my heart on my sleeve, get both criticized and praised. I’m so glad I finally came out of that closet.

Expressions are hard. Writing is worse. But surely, it gets better.

My work is mostly a reflection of situations and experiences. I have no formal training in the area of creative writing (or writing of any sort), but possess a desire to draw the world’s attention to Africa through literature. I aspire that my poetry would make undeniable political, religious, social, economic, cultural and educational impact in Africa.

Poetry is my mask. Behind her, I can be anything. She draws me out of the closet and muteness dies. Still, for so long I have hoped to someday share the paintings that have been etched in my mind’s mind hence my medium account which is one of my many firsts in a journey to skill and paragon.

Because I found Medium and you, in my most childlike nature, I crawled out.

Writing is lonely many a time. I do not want to journey alone anymore. I am blessed to have medium. I am blessed to have you, who read to the end.

--

--