Lazy.so review: First thoughts after a week

David Ogundeko
Thoughts of A Stoic Traveller
2 min readSep 25, 2023
An image showing how I wrote this article first on Lazy before bringing it to Medium

Lazy is the beginning of something truly revolutionary.

I don’t see Lazy as a note taker or a brain mapper ergo comparing Lazy to Obsidian, Mem, Notion etc might be akin to comparing apples to oranges or comparing the physical Moleskin notepad to a note taking app on the iPad.

Lazy has taken the e-mail, a well known infrastructure powering web based communication that actually works, and repurposed it to serve as a way for us to communicate with ourselves. Notes on Lazy are like e-mails you can browse through, sort, organise and discover serendipitous connections with the added ability to interact with ChatGPT in app. Lazy is capturing the inner conversations you have with yourself and giving it an interactive visual interface.

This is a very simple step forward in redesigning note taking yet it comes with powerful opportunities once we begin to layer on advanced AI capabilities over time. Imagine an AI that learns your habitual preferences for saved articles, podcasts, what you write and how you organise your thoughts over time and begins to make suggestions, autocomplete certain thoughts for you and auto-discover contents on the internet for you. Lazy has the potential to evolve into a real digital personal assistant that helps with unlocking the potential in your creative ideas and this is what I find truly revolutionary about Lazy. It’s starting out as a simple note taking tool but with the potential to grow into an infrastructure that other platforms can plug into, just imagine this:

I’m writing an idea for an article which needs a custom illustration, I can pull up the Lazy command and interact with Dall-E to generate an image for this. I can review my work with ChatGPT and check for tonality, writing style and errors. Once I’m satisfied with my article, I can pull up the Lazy command and select where to publish my work — Medium, Substack, Wordpress etc

An image showing the Lazy interface and the options it gives you just by pressing Command L on a Mac

Lazy sits on my desktop hence it is more familiar and easily reachable to me than going to the browser and typing in SubStack etc for writing an article.

We all start with interacting with our inner voices first before interacting with the world and Lazy could be just that platform our inner voices could flourish on.

--

--

David Ogundeko
Thoughts of A Stoic Traveller

I resonate between reality and fiction — a poem is my tuning fork. I’m a disciple of Jesus Christ; a recovering Artist & Poet and Founder of www.funema.co