What excites me

Arman Suleimenov
2 min readNov 5, 2013

“When you grow up you, tend to get told that the world is the way it is and your life is just to live your life inside the world, try not to bash into the walls too much, try to have a nice family, have fun, save a little money. That’s a very limited life. Life can be much broader, once you discover one simple fact, and that is that everything around you that you call life was made up by people that were no smarter than you. And you can change it, you can influence it, you can build your own things that other people can use. Once you learn that, you’ll never be the same again”. -Steve Jobs

What excites me is the process of creation of something new and people-facing be it a piece of software, an essay, a video clip, or a course. I love the days at the end of which I feel an enjoyable tiredness and satisfaction of making something great. More often than not we live our lives as the spectators, the passive audience, the random passers-by. I love consuming, don’t get me wrong. I enjoy reading. Days would have been way more monotonous if not good books or blog posts. I enjoy showing friends my favorite martial arts flicks where great choreography meets humor and comedy. But that enjoyment is no match to what you get to experience when you create. In the tornado of events, meetings, time-consuming commitments which occupy our busy lives, find at least an hour a day for reflection. And create!

If you found any value in this essay, it would mean a lot to me if you scrolled down and recommended it.

--

--

Arman Suleimenov

Managing Director, Pinemelon.com. Founder, nFactorial.School. Past: Hora.AI, N17R, Zero To One Labs, Princeton CS, YC S12 team, ACM ICPC World Finals '09, '11.