Secrets of Sudarshana Chakra Dasa: Part 6: Ashtakavarga Analysis

Ashtakavarga is an integral part of Sudarshana Chakra Dasa. Maharishi Parashara mentions that in Brhat Parashari Hora Shastra, however, he does not give any clue regarding the usage of Ashtakavarga in Sudarshana Chakra Dasa. He expects us to apply the common knowledge available in this area to decipher the results of Sudarshana Chakra Dasa.

BPHS 74.27–28. After ascertaining the effects of the years, months etc. in accordance with the Sudarshana Chakra, assessment of effects for the years, months etc. should be made on the basis of AshtakaVarga. The benefic, or malefic effects will be full, if the assessment from both produces the same results. If they are different, the comparative strength of both should be taken into account to declare the final results.

Why Ashtakavarga is important?

Irrespective of how well a Graha is placed in the Rasi chart i.e., Uccha, Sva, Mulatrikona or Mitra Rasi, if the Graha is having less Bindus (auspicious dots) in the Rasi containing it, in its own Ashtakavarga, the graha becomes impotent in bestowing the grand results expected from its Rasi placement.

According to Horasara, the good or bad effects of a Bhava is given in proportion to the auspicious dots in that Bhava. So if a Bhava contains strong Benefics, but in Ashtakavarga, the Bhava does not have sufficient auspicious dots, the good results are bound to be feeble. On the other hand, there could be some negative results.

Horasara 17.xx. The Dasha effects arising out of the 12 Rāśis should be determined for the several Grahas. In the Dashas of the Grahas, which contain no benefic dots, or, which are placed in fall, or in an enemy’s Bhava will bring about diseases, financial loss, grief etc. If there are one, two, or three dots only, predict loss of money, grains and cattle. With four dots, the effects are medium, i.e. not bad and not good. Should there be five dots, all desires will be fulfilled.
Horasara 17.xx. The effects revealed by the various Bhavas will be in proportion to the benefic dots in the Bhavas occupied by them. The results of the Dashas cannot be estimated without such Ashtakavarga Kundalis.

Key Principles

Based on my understanding of Ashtakavarga, I am proposing the following way to use Ashtakavarga in Sudardhana Chakra Dasa.

  • (1) Sarva-Ashtakavarga (SAV) of Varsha Lagna: Only consider the Janma Lagna for using the Ashtakavarga in the analysis. If the Varsha Lagna has more than 26 auspicious dots, the results will be moderately auspicious. The results becomes progressively better with higher number of dots.
  • (2) Bhinna-Ashtakavarga (BAV) of various Karaka Grahas: Look at dots in the Rasi of the Varsha Lagna in the Bhinna Ashtakavarga of all the Grahas. The natural significations (Karakatva) of the Grahas (Karakas) become very important here. If the rasi contains 3 or less auspicious dots, the native suffers with regards to that Karaka. For instance, when Taurus Rasi’s Dasa is running and in Surya’s Ashtakavarga, Taurus containing Zero (0) Dots, then the father may suffer calamity.

According to Horasara, some areas of life influences by the various grahas are:

  1. Surya: (1) Ability to influence, (2) Father
  2. Chandra: (1) State of mind, (2) Intellect
  3. Mangal: (1) Siblings, (2) ability to defend Sattva guna, (3) Landed property
  4. Budha: (1) Awareness of the surrounding, (2) Speech, (3) Actions, (4) Intellect
  5. Guru: (1) Health, (2) Wisdom, (3) Children, (4) Wealth
  6. Shukra: (1) Marriage and relationships, (2) family obligations, (3) sexual pleasures, (4) conveyances
  7. Shani: (1) Longevity, (2) means of livelihood.
Horasara 17.xx. (1) One’s own ability to influence the matter in the world and about his father should be known from Sūrya. (2) His mind, the extent of wisdom and about his mother should be known from Candra. (3) Mangal rules brother, Sattva Guna and landed property. (4) Awareness, speech, act and wisdom are under Budha. (5) His physical soundness, wisdom, sons and wealth are governed by Guru. (6) Shukra governs his marriage, family obligations and the pleasures out of marriage and conveyances. (7) His longevity, means of livelihood and death are governed by Shani.
  • (3) Ashtakavarga of the Transiting Varsha Lagnesha: Since the focus of a time is on the Varsha Lagnesha, its transit holds great importance. If it is transiting through a Rasi having high number of auspicious dots in its own Bhinna Ashtakavarga, it will produce auspicious results during that time.
  • (4) Weak Graha in Bhinna Ashtakavarga of the Varsha Lagnesha: In the Bhinna Ashtakavarga of the Varsha Lagnesha, determine the graha occupying a Rasi having zero (0) dots. The Bhavas owned by this Graha will suffer destruction. The Bhava (from Janma Lagna) coinciding with the Rasi having 0 dots will also suffer. On the other hand, the Bhava gains, whose lord is placed in a Rasi having high number of dots. Or the Bhava coinciding with the Rasi having high number of dots also become successful.