The Hari Hara Brahma Yoga

Jataka Parijata 7.162 states that this yoga is produced (1) when 2nd, 12th and 8th from the 2nd lord are occupied by Shubha Grahas, (2) when Guru, Chandra and Budha occupy the 4th, 9th and 8th Bhava with respect to the 7th lord, and (3) when Surya, Shukra and Mangal occupy the 4th, 10th and 11th Bhavas from the Lagna lord.

According to Maharishi Parashara vide BPHS 36.35–36. Shubha Grahas in 2nd, 12th and 8th counted from Dhanesha forms the Hari Yoga. Shubha Grahas in 4th, 9th and 8th counted from Daresha forms the Hara Yoga. And, Shubha Grahas in 4th, 10th and 11th counted from Lagnesha forms the Brahma Yoga. One born is any of these 3 yogas are happy, learned and endowed with wealth and sons.

  1. There are 3 parts of this yoga corresponding to Hari, Hara and Brahma.
  2. The Hari Yoga: The Hari yoga is formed when 2nd, 12th and 8th from the 2nd lord are occupied by Shubha Grahas.
  3. The Hara Yoga: The Hara yoga is formed when Guru, Chandra and Budha occupy the 4th, 9th and 8th Bhava with respect to the 7th lord.
  4. The Brahma Yoga: The Brahma Yoga is formed when Surya, Shukra and Mangal occupy the 4th, 10th and 11th Bhavas from the Lagna lord.
  5. The results of the individual yogas are taken from Jyotish Yoga Deepika by Narayan Datt Shrimali.
  6. Hari, Hara and Brahma are mapped to AUM. Brahma is A, Vishnu is U and Mahesvara is M. When AUM is rearranged as per the Yoga i.e., Hari-Hara-Brahma, it becomes UMA, the mother Shakti.

The Hari Yoga:

  1. Among the Trinity, Brahma-Vishnu-Mahesvara, Hari is Vishnu and is the sustainer of the creation. He represents the middle portion of the Creation-Sustenance-Annihilation cycle. In AUM, he represents “U”.
  2. In a horoscope 2nd house is the house of sustenance and, hence it can also be called the Hari Bhava. The 2nd lord is akin to Hari, or the lord Vishnu.
  3. The 2nd Bhava deals with wealth, family, speech, learning etc. all needed for sustenance in this world.
  4. The graha occupying the 2nd and 12th from a Graha or Bhava cause Shubha or Papakartari yoga. Shubha graha indicate sustenance while krura grahas indicate destruction.
  5. The 8th house is another key house of sustenance, as it governs longevity. Without longevity, there is no sustenance.
  6. The three houses should be seen from the 2nd lord, the representation of lord Hari in the horoscope. When these places are occupied by Shubha grahas, the yoga is formed.
  7. In my humble opinion, if these Bhavas are not occupied, then they should have Shubha-drsti and be devoid of papa-drsti.
  8. One born in this yoga will have very favourable manifestation of the 2nd house matters i.e (1) happy and contented i.e., endowed with a happy family, (2) highly learned, (3) eloquent, and (4) charitable and look after others.
  9. One who is happy in life and is endowed with various kinds of happiness and has a positive mind, also becomes philanthropic and charitable. They also look after not only their immediate family, but also their extended family.

The Hara Yoga

  1. Hara is Shiva, who is responsible for Annihilation of the creation, in the form of Mahesvara. He represents the last portion of the Creation-Sustenance-Annihilation cycle. In AUM, he represents “M”. Annihilation can also mean freedom from the cycle of birth and death i.e., liberation.
  2. 7th house is the Shiva Bhava. Here lord Shiva is present in the form of Shiva Linga, representing the cause of all creation. 7th house is also known as the Dvara, from which the soul enters the manifested universe, and it is also through where the Soul leaves.
  3. The 7th lord is the representation of the lord Hara. Shiva being the cause of liberation, 7th is also called Maraka i.e., one take takes away the life-force.
  4. The freedom from the manifested universe can be attained through transcending sexuality, that is governed by the 7th house.
  5. The Hara Bhava also manifest supremely high learning, that can become instrumental in attaining liberation, i.e., the path of Gnana yoga.
  6. The 4th and 8th Bhavas are important in this yoga. These two Bhavas have strong influence of Mangal, the karaka for Mrtyu (death). Chandra owns the 4th Bhava and gets Neecha in the 8th Bhava of the natural zodiac. Chandra’s neechatva indicate end of sustenance. 4th and 8th are also part of the moksha trikona. The process of moksha starts with contentment (4th) and then progresses through Saadhana (8th) before culminating into the 12th house of Samadhi (12th). If the heart (4th) is not clean, the process is not kickstarted.
  7. The 9th house is important for this yoga as it is the house of the Guru, Devata and the father. The blessings of these beings are necessary, for the native to cross this ocean of Samsara. Without the blessings, its not possible to take the final step!
  8. The author of Jataka Parijata mentions that the Bhavas 4th,8th and 9th house be occupied by three benefics, Guru, Budha and Chandra respectively. 4-Guru, 8-Budha, 9-Chandra. But a liberal interpretation of this is Shubha-graha occupying these Bhavas (Ref. Jyotish Yoga Deepika by Narayan Datt Shrimali).
  9. The results are (1) high ambition to attain the highest position in life, (2) inclined towards righteous acts, (3) tolerant, (4) philanthropic, and (5) truthful.
  10. The inclination towards the highest position is indicated by 9th indicating cliff (Dhanu). The inclination towards righteous acts, tolerance, truthfulness etc. are indicating of shubha influences on the 4th and the 9th bhavas. The shubha influence on the 8th Bhava gives the optimism and zeal to carry out the good things in life.

The Brahma Yoga

  1. Brahma is responsible for the Creation. He represents the first portion of the Creation-Sustenance-Annihilation cycle. In AUM, he represents “A”.
  2. Lagna is the place of Brahma. Brahma represents the formation of the Ego, the feeling of “I”ness, and is the prime cause of differentiation of self from the divine consciousness. Perhaps this is why Brahma is not worshipped.
  3. The Lagnesha represents Brahma; here where it occupies a horoscope, there is growth of the significations of that Bhava. Brahma = Creation = Growth.
  4. On a positive side, Brahma represents Creativity and Innovation. Creativity is creating something that was not present and known before. Hence Brahma is also linked to Brahma Gnana and his consort Sarasvati is the Devi of learning and Knowledge (Veda).
  5. This yoga involves Surya, Shukra and Mangal occupying the 4th, 10th and 11th Bhavas from the Lagna lord. 4th-Surya, 10th-Shukra and 11th-Mangal.
  6. In my humble opinion, if the grahas are not located in the said houses, their conjunction with the Bhava lords can also give rise to this yoga. Or, even the graha drsti of the grahas on the said Bhavas can manifest this yoga. This is based on general principles of Jyotish pertaining to Graha Bhava yoga. For instance, when Surya conjoin the 4th lord from the Lagnesha or aspect the 4th house, this yoga can be formed, while the other combinations are similarly present.
  7. 10th and 11th Bhavas are the Upachayas and are linked to growth.
  8. 4th house is where the Creation starts, hence it is governed by Chandra representing Mother. This is where the Guru, representing Jiva (life-force) gets Uccha. Hence the creation starts with 4th house and growth in 10th and 11th house.
  9. One born in this yoga has (1) sharp intellect (lagna), (2) knower of the future (Brahma), and (3) sober and dignified (10th). He has (4) full confidence on one’s own self (Lagna).
Like what you read? Give Varaha Mihira a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.