Don’t break the chain

Joseph Emmi
Thoughts On The Go

--

Jerry Seinfeld has this technique or practice that others had famously shared as the key advise they revived from the comedy super start; the advise is simple, don’t break the chain.

He stated that the role of a comedian is to come up with jokes, and in order to get good jokes, he has to write everyday.

Get a calendar and Mark with a big red X the days you write, after a couple of weeks you will have a chain; you don’t want to break it, and your main objective becomes not braking it, hence, you have to write.

Where I’m going with this?

Well, I was there for a good part of this year and it went pretty well, I feel petty good and creates a great amount of content for which I’m proud of. However, after a couple of failed attempts of keeping my chain unbroken I’m coming back again, because one of the best ways to realise how important and valuable something is is to remove it entirely.

I’ve not been writing for several weeks now, and immediately realise how much I miss, but also my perennial necessity of create and and my unstoppable idea generation engine screaming for an outlet.

Here I am one more time, aiming to do it build my chain, but also fully aware that despite the bumps on the road, there already victory at been aware and coming back, becase quiting has never been an option.

--

--