Photo by Kal Loftus on Unsplash

Free at last

Joseph Emmi
Thoughts On The Go
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2018

--

From time to time a writing piece will arrive to my life to make things complicated, and it is always the same. It comes disguised as an easy job, one that happens to flow naturally without even thinking about, where the words come out straight into my fingers rapidly filling the screen and usually completed in what seems to be just a matter of few minutes.

However, the reality after that always changes, the editing becomes endless and shaping those thoughts a colossal task.

What originally felt like something that was about to be completed ends up dragging for days, sometimes weeks. This was exactly that case.

Many things go through my mind when this happens, from questioning myself and skills, to asking several times what I’m actually trying to say with the piece, to desirable consideration that is quitting, just ditch it and move away onto the next one.

Yes, I really wanted to quit, no matter how many times I asked myself what I was trying to so, that concept continue changing every time I try conclude it, but it was never an option, otherwise it would have defeated the purpose in the first place.

It took me too long, and it started to feel like it was putting me away from many other things and projects, and to an extent it actually did, but there’s also a level of satisfaction that comes from it, from knowing that despite of not been economical or practical, and that is the commitment that comes when taking a task that no one else expecting but myself, but also that despite the difficulty I just got it done. And done is always good, done means freedom.

--

--