Is It Over Already???

Matthew Sturdivant
Thoughts…On the Super Semester
4 min readDec 11, 2015

No matter what you’re going through, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel and it may seem hard to get to it but you can do it and just keep working towards it and you’ll find the positive side of things.

Demi Lovato

Massage Therapy, I needed it.

Well after being in a semester boot camp, super semester boot camp, it is coming to an end. Surprisingly I feel good about it. I was frustrated in the beginning, at times I felt that my writing style was not good enough or up to standards for others. but with help and several adjustments I can say I’m content with everything. I know the basics and tips about broadcast writing I just have to now add my style onto it which is not a difficult task at all.

I even got a massage for being so stressed at the boot camp. I’m kidding, I did get a massage though that was true, felt good, relaxed. It was from the Salon Professional Academy she did a wonderful job, they came to Lindenwood University for finals week. Anywho, It is shocking that the week went by so fast I actually did not want it to end I wanted to continue I wanted to learn more. I feel like one semester is not enough I feel like I would like to use the whole year with my teachers and classmates to really polish my skills. It seems like yesterday when we all walked into the room and sat down not knowing what to expect then BAM! Packages, VO’s, VO-SOTs, NAT Packages, Weather VO’s, News VO’s, Sports VO’s, and blogs?? What!?!? Seemed impossible right? Not really, turned out to be pretty simple and time consuming. Constant revising of scripts but for the sake of our own good.

I enjoyed some of the packages I put together I think and know I can only get better if I practice with them, if I can get a job in the news industry and show them what I can do I think it’ll be a cake walk and I honestly think I’ll wow them with my skills, yes I’m that confident. I feel over the course of this semester I feel like I have grown as a professional in the news industry, improving my skills with something to add to resume of what I can which is a plus and I am happy about.

Oh Hi!

I had a wonderful time with my fellow classmates though. It is by far the best group of people I have been around in school they all did phenomenal jobs and worked their tails off every newscast and package. I hope and pray nothing but the best for them all in the future. I’m confident they will land the job they so desire. I have watched them do the best they could on their packages and while anchoring even the weather and sports segments. I want to thank them for the laughs and time I spent with them, it was truly a blessing. I’m sure I won’t forget them we shared plenty of laughs this super semester and everyone got along with each other very well which I was happy about. Not once was there conflict between classmates or professors. It was a great group of people to be around.

Super Semester Fall 2015

To my professor Brandon, Thank you for the knowledge you have given me and my classmates. Always there to help us with any technical difficulties we would experience and have a hard time troubleshooting. Whatever we needed help with whether in avid or something else you were patient enough and helped us with what we needed. Color correction, brightness issues you are a genius in what you do. Lindenwood university is blessed to have a man with knowledge and skill best wishes and prayers for you and your family, congratulations on the new addition to the family as well good sir. To professor Jill Falk, I thank you for your professionalism and knowledge as well as your teaching skills you provided to me and my classmates. Its not everyday you get to learn from a professional who has been in the news industry but thankfully for us we were fortunate enough to have one in you. Best wishes and prayers to you and your family and your future endeavors. I learn so much from you I am blessed to have been a part of this super semester. God bless everyone from the super semester good luck in your future journey in life.

--

--