Super Semester — Ups and Downs

Daniel Rottländer
Thoughts…On the Super Semester
3 min readFeb 29, 2016

The last story I published introduced you to the beautiful Super Semester at Lindenwood University, which I’m a part of right now. Now, that a little more than four weeks of the semester are over, it’s time for a first conclusion.

My first four weeks of the Super Semester were labeled by being a part of the in-house group, which made me responsible for anchoring, producing, and presenting sports and weather segments. While anchoring during the first two weeks has been more than amazing, the third and fourth week were stressful, busy, and even frustrating to a certain extent.

Producer Feelings…

While it’s normally the anchors and reporters who get the public attention, it’s actually the producer who’s responsible for the magic to happen. The producer has to be capable of organizing, leading a team, and making sure that the show airs as planned. All these responsibilites can lead to an enormous amount of stress and some emotional breakdowns. To be honest, the first show I produced aired February 16th and during the last hour before show I just wanted to sit in a corner and cry. Yes, this has been my emotional low point in the Super Semester so far. The next broadcast I produced aired two days later and was, according to everybody who saw it, a huge success. We had amazing content, anchors and reporters did awesome jobs and I could organize my time better, which helped me to stay calm all day. (During the first day I dropped multiple f-bombs)

Going over the weather forecast.

During the last week I was responsible for the sports and weather segments. While I really enjoyed doing the weather, I have to admit that the sports segments were nothing I really enjoyed. As an international student I just don’t understand the American college sports culture. It’s nothing but third class sports that’s not enjoyable to watch and therefore, according to me, not worth to report. However, since the Super Semester is not about yourself only but about the team, you have to take one for the team and I’m happy that I could be helpful in these broadcasts even though I didn’t enjoy what I was doing.

Starting March 1st, I’ll switch over to the content team and won’t be anchoring or producing for the next four weeks. Instead of that, I’ll be producing packages and VOs for the show, which I’m looking forward to. As a politics nerd, I’ll mostly focus on political stories starting with a preview on Super Tuesday airing on March 1st.

Stay tuned for more!

Danny

P.S: The Lindy Awards are back! I was able to submit some of my work for LUTV and hope to receive an honor. The ceremony will be held on March 23rd and I’ll look forward to attend!

--

--