The More I Do, The More Comfortable I am

It’s All Coming Together

Matthew Sturdivant
Thoughts…On the Super Semester

--

In order to succeed, we must first believe that we can. — Nikos Kazantzakis

I Enjoy What I’m Doing. It’s Becoming Me.

I’m becoming more and more confident on what I’m doing this super semester. I knew it would only be a matter of time before things started to click and it is a great feeling. Like when you’re practicing drawing, or playing the piano, or sports or something. Eventually, you’re going to get better. You’re going to become more relaxed, more comfortable, more confident, until there comes a time where you feel like you can do it on your own. I kinda feel like I’m at that point. Yes there are things in the news industry that I still need to learn and yes I’m all for it. But at this point in the super semester, I feel as if I have gained all the knowledge that our professors could teach me. They helped me find my style, my voice and I’m starting implement my professional style with my “Matt” style, if that makes any sense. I enjoy doing packages now. Why at first I could not stand it? Why at first I did not want to do them at all and wished I could have just stayed on the newscast side? I do not know, but it’s just that when I complete one news package I just say alright what’s the next package I can do? Give me another one. I’m at that point where all I’m thinking is do it all Matt, Do it all. One thing’s for sure two is for certain, I want to do it all. I want to push myself to get on multiple platforms in the news and media industry. I truly believe I can do it. Every time I enter the LUTV studio I look at it as not just homework but practice for the real world.

I thank the professors in the super semester. We were like little chickadees now we’ve grown into professionals in their class oozing with confidence and skill to get the job done.

I Was Honored To Be A Part Of History In Change

Being at the University of Missouri campus during the racial tension was going on and attending the rally for the graduate students was something, better yet, a privilege to be apart of. To hear these men and women speak on equality and opportunity for people of all race, color, gender, sexuality and to have that many people there to support the cause was amazing. I know that all people are not racist and I know that there is some good in this world. The problem is that there is so much evil and anger and hatred in the world that the good gets overshadowed by it. But good can and will always overcome evil, I think you just have to be consistent with it. This is one of the things I enjoyed while in the super semester also. Is being able to be a part of history like this, to be able to cover history such as this and get peoples voices heard and to show that there are people lots of people in this world who want to see equal opportunity for everyone and it can definitely be done.

Since then I’ve been looking at the world and this semester differently. I’ve been cautious, more focused I know some people in this world have pure hatred in their hearts and just want to see you fail secretly. I know I can be good at this. I wish I would have had more time as an anchor but due to time constraints I was not but I would have liked to just to have more practice and experience under my belt.

The more I think of it the more I feel as if I did not have enough time but I do get more time editing which is good I guess but if I want to be an anchor like I want I would like to practice more, but again that’s something I can do in the comfort of my home. I pray that God watches over me and blesses me with the chance to show what I can do. I’m confident in myself I’m confident in my abilities I’m confident that I can get the job done all I need is a shot.

--

--