Time is ticking…

Savannah Phillips
Thoughts…On the Super Semester
3 min readDec 6, 2015

I keep asking myself, “Savannah, are you on track with everything?” As I hope for the answer to be “Yes.” Every time, I can never be so sure. There is so much to Super Semester that I learn more and more about each day. I was thinking the other day what the most valuable thing I have experience or learned within the few months I’ve been enduring Super Semester. Honestly, I think what has been the most rewarding is when students within the class get to teach their classmates something they have learned. Granted, the teachers do a great job, but over all I think it’s appreciated when students get to inform or teach other students something they have struggled with. Especially in AVID there are things I am still learning and getting taught but Ed, but also by Matt and Caitlin.

They all say, “So far, so good!” I can’t complain as of now when it comes to the content I am producing. I think the most difficult thing is shooting something and not knowing how it is going to look on the AVID editing screen. There are so many steps as a reporter you want to take before shooting anything that it can sometimes be overwhelming, but after two weeks of content team, it has indeed gotten easier. Things are becoming muscle memory and I have learned you can never white balance too many times. Its always best to have your audio lines up higher on the camera so you have more of a range to work with as you edit. Also, planning the shots of a package before one goes out to shoot makes the entire process a lot easier because that way you will be able to plan your editing before you even start shooting.

As I reflect since my last blog post, I think I am feeling a little indifferent. Right now where we are in the semester it’s almost hit or miss. Its hard to keep up with all that you have to do and think about dead lines on top of not knowing if I’m going to collect all of the badges I need to do well in four classes. I registered for spring semester classes yesterday and it was weird to think that I would no longer be spending my Monday’s and Wednesdays with a great team of students producing a newscast nor would I have Friday’s off…

As much as people complain about Super Semester and how difficult it is, once you get into a routine, it’s something someone can look forward to. I attack my days in the studio as I would if I had a real job. I don’t want to get too ahead of myself though because I still have plenty of time left on the content team and there is still much to get done, but as time winds down, I look forward to preparing my demo reel and getting into the swing of taking absolutely everything I have learned, created, and produced and creating something that will set me up with a potential job opportunity.

--

--