Its time to graduate, in life.

As I approach the threshold of my Masters’ degree here in the US, I cannot help but reflect upon my investment of two years that has gone into it. Having been one of the 500,000 odd engineers that India produces on an annual basis, I was convinced that the only way to stand out was to pursue my education further.

It is not a mystery that Indian parents regard education as the single most important factor that would lead to their children’s success. A normal conversation in many an Indian household goes as below :

Father : WHATTT .. our son got only 90/100 in his board examinations ( 10th grade)

Mother: I know. We should make him go to more coaching classes.

Father : If he keeps screwing like this then not even a third rate college will accept him.

This concern is not unwarranted as if you score a 90/100 in India there are 500,000 more just like you with the same score. This level of competition leads to either extreme stress or enhanced inspiration to perform better. In some cases it’s not surprising to see both levels of emotion.

I have now realized that the pursuit to be different is a great motivating factor in a person’s life. The attitude to stand out of the crowd is present in every human being, and the way you pursue this attitude defines your success or failure in life. There are lots of cases where “follow the herd” mentality prevails but your conviction is shown if you take a stand, and eventually stand out. There is a long way to go before I can call myself successful, but I feel I am taking baby steps in the right direction.

Now after 2 years in the US, I have had time to introspect on what has passed. Did I make the right choice ? Am I really happy with what I am doing ? Would I have been more successful in my home country ? I am a man with simple tastes. I want my family. I want my friends. I want my sambhar-vada and masala dosa (staple south Indian breakfasts) . The US has offered me quality education. It has given me a job. It has given me a chance to have an international experience and have a taste of a totally new culture. I only feel that I am sacrificing too much, because at the end of the day no matter how much you earn later in life, it is those simple things you miss the most.

However, for now my main focus lies in gaining the most of my time in the US.

My mother called me with great excitement yesterday.

She said :”Sharat beta, me and papa got 10 year multiple entry US visa. We are so excited to come for your graduation.”

I acknowledged her thoughts and silently smirked to myself saying “I doubt I will be here that long ma” :)

Sharat

--

--

Sharat Ganesh
Thoughts, ramblings and other synonyms [Insert clickbait here ;)]

Infosec @FireEye/ @CUBoulderAlumni / Half-Marathoner /Left of Left/ Sorted to Slytherin with a Fox patronus/ Lyanna Mormont Supporter