Amado, Arrivaca & San Xavier

Seth Webster Ⓥ
Thoughts on the World
5 min readSep 21, 2009

I set out this morning for a ride to Arivaca Lake on my new Yamaha FZ6. The sun was shining and some great clouds for cover and photographic background had rolled into the frame and were indicating a scenic ride to the southwest. Arizona in September can be brutally hot, but it was fairly mild out, granted it was only 11:30.

In the process of writing this post, I discovered that there was a far more scenic route to Arivaca — I’ll have to check that out next time!

I headed down I10-I19 passing the San Xavier mission on the way. For those not in-the-know, I19 leads directly to the Arizona/Mexico border crossing. The highway’s shoulder is littered with memorials to those who’ve perished on the highly trafficked and apparently equally dangerous international corridor.

About thirty-five minutes into the trip, the burgeoning clouds made their way in front of the sun; a welcome relief as this area tends to be somewhat hotter than Oro Valley,where I began my ride. Of course, where there’s smoke there’s fire and often, where there are clouds, there’s rain. This day would predictably hold true to the latter. Starting out small and manageably then steadily increasing in intensity, the rain came. Look! Just 3Km to my exit. Hot damn!

I pulled off on Arivaca Rd, and made my way past the Cow Palace and Long Horn Steakhouse to the small (2 old-style gas pumps) Amado Market across the street. No awning, no cover. By now the rain had increased to a pretty dramatic down pour; nothing like a great Arizona Monsoon, but enough to make sitting or riding in it pretty uncomfortable. Time to find some cover.

I started the bike and slowly wound around back onto Arivaca Rd.which now continues west from this little gas station. Directly behind I found the “Amado Mini Mall/Plaza,” a collection of six spaces of varying size and occupancy status. I drove the bike up under the overhang in front Dragon’s Lair Video. None of the shops were open, and Dragon’s Lair looked as though it’d been the scene of an interesting party the night before. Strewn about the video store’s floor were chairs and clothing as well as some portable chairs on their sides and backs. There was also a motorized scooter near the back wall. Maybe they aren’t in business anymore? I spent time taking pictures and reading the postings in the business’ windows, and after about twenty minutes,the rain began to relent. I waited until I could see mostly sun to the west/northwest as that’s where my route would take me and then suited up. The temperature had dropped significantly making for gorgeous weather for a ride — and a gorgeous ride it was! The road between Amado and Arivaca was a blast! Great turns over hills and splendid Oak trees, picturesque valleys dappled with sunlight dripping through the breaking clouds, and free range cattle complete with calves prancing through the green grass fields. Caution was the order as the road, recently wet, had been littered in some places with dirt and debris from the storm.

Upon reaching Arivaca, I stopped at Arivaca Mercantile for a quick rest and a drink. I was parched! I made my way inside and found myself a Coke Zero(r). Mistakenly, I looked up and noticed the wall of death above my head: Lining the wall above the drink coolers, were cheaply reproduced (Ink Jet circa 1999) photos of men,women and teens of all sorts with the freshly-dead carcasses of deer and Javelina. Without fail these folks are holding up a piece of the animal such as a the head or antlers and expressing great pride and satisfaction. Ah, the hunting culture… I just don’t get it.

[gallery]

The weather was cooperating and at this point I decided that I’d continue on to Arivaca Lake. It was, supposedly, only about 22 more miles. As I made my way down to the junction with S. 5th Ave(AZ289), I saw this great dilapidated old building, complete with an old fuel filling station and of course, ties out front for your trusty steed.

The road to Arivaca Lake from the town was, for the most part, just fantastic. More great twisties and greenery. Closer to the lake,the quality of the road diminished significantly with frequent road-patches and some gravel in the turns. The last two miles to the lake is, news to me, a completely unmaintained dirt/rock road. My FZ6 handled it pretty well, but I don’t think I’ll be taking too many roads like that with it; it really just likes the street so much better.

There were a number of people on the shores of the lake, some camping, some just day-tripping. One family had scored a spot along the boat ramp and had quite a spread! The water had obviously receded; it was at least forty or fifty feet from the more distinct water line. The banks were basically marshlands with frogs taking full advantage of the shallow waters and hunting up a storm. Every few seconds you would hear them screeching and splashing back down into the water. While I didn’t capture them with the camera, I was fortunate enough to see at least two acrobatic maneuvers in which an airborne bug met his end.

There was a gentleman floating on an inner tube in the lake fishing. Disappointed, he explained from the water that he’d been unable to catch anything other than a large mouth bass which are currently considered a restricted catch; you can’t take them home. There must be an effort to repair their numbers as there’s obviously some environmental stress in the area.

After a good walk around the banks of the lake, I packed up and headed for the main road. The ride out over the tough terrain seemed much shorter leaving than it did on the way in. Once back on Ruby Rd., and past the patchwork asphalt I opened up the throttle and had an exhilarating ride through the twists and turns. A copper colored snake crossed my path and at about eight feet long he got my full attention. I slowed up and he dashed across the lane in front of me, his scales glittering in the sunlight. Spectacular.

I flew through Arivaca this time, hoping to beat another storm I could see rolling into my path from the southwest. I had decided to make a stop at San Xavier Mission to take some photos — the last few times I had visited, the facade was being refinished and scaffolding covered a significant portion of the building. I was hoping to make it to the mission before the clouds covered it and before the storm hit — about 40 miles.

One out of two ain’t bad! I managed to get there before the rain but the light didn’t exactly cooperate. Next time! Still, a nice shot of the mission and the gathering congregation for 5:30 mass.

This ride was a ton of fun. I plan to try the other route which goes through Sasabe and more mountains some time. When I do, I’ll tell you all about it right here.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Seth Webster Ⓥ
Thoughts on the World

Photographer, Filmmaker, Musician, Artist, Activist, working every day to make a difference.