Navigating the Network: My Summer as an Engineering Intern at ThousandEyes

by Sadiya Bhawania, Technical Intern II (Summer 2023) at Cisco ThousandEyes

This summer, I had the opportunity to be an engineering intern at ThousandEyes, a leader in network assurance offering visibility from switch to SaaS and everywhere in between on the Internet. With this view, we help companies and organizations deliver top-notch digital experiences to their users. As an intern, I was fortunate to gain firsthand experience with ThousandEyes’ innovative solutions and collaborate with some exceptionally gifted individuals who motivated me to kickstart my professional journey.

Encouragement From the Get-go

On my first day, my team warmly welcomed me and were eager to share their knowledge. They had a rich background, with 3 senior Java developers who had been with ThousandEyes for approximately 5 years. Their experience allowed them to provide insights into the customer perspective and the developer side of applications. The onboarding process was thorough and efficient and provided me with all the essential tools, resources, and connections to jumpstart my journey with confidence. I was also encouraged continuously by my team to express my ideas, which transformed me from an anxious newcomer to a confident, contributing member of the team in a short time span.

From API to Full-Stack Development Experience

During my time at ThousandEyes, I worked on two separate projects. The first project focused on creating an API that allows clients to access all agent proxies associated with their accounts. The goal was to make access to necessary test APIs easier for customers. This project introduced me to many new technologies, such as gRPC, Protocol Buffers, groovy, and Spock, and gave me a better understanding of the company’s codebase and team dynamics. My team was incredibly supportive throughout the project, answering my questions and guiding me when I needed help. Thanks to their support, I was able to complete the project four weeks ahead of schedule. If you’re interested in learning more, you can find detailed documentation of the API designed in the ThousandEyes developer reference at https://developer.thousandeyes.com/v6/agents/#/agent-proxies.

After completing my first project, I was eager to take on more challenging tasks and expand my skill set. That’s when my manager, Mina Li, introduced me to my second project and entrusted me as its owner. It was an internal initiative, which we divided into four distinct segments. Each segment then underwent a three-phased development: modeling, implementation, and front-end design.

To advance on my second project, I dove into comprehensive research on the required components and databases. Following that, I designed both the model and user interface, secured validation from senior engineers, and then proceeded with coding and verifying the code’s functionality across different environments. Through this project, I felt my proficiency in full-stack development grow significantly. I acquired knowledge in emerging technologies such as TypeScript, Angular, Vue.js, and Terraform, which were instrumental in completing my assignment.

What resonates with me the most from my experiences at ThousandEyes is the level of trust and autonomy my team placed in me. They consistently encouraged me to drive my projects independently, which I valued. I also acquired a wealth of knowledge in various areas that were instrumental in driving outcomes, and I am proud of what we accomplished together.

Takeaways for the Best ThousandEyes Experience

As an engineering intern, here are some takeaways I leave for future interns or new full-time employees:

  1. Brush Up on Project Management: I participated in every aspect of project management, starting from the initial design of the model and user interface to coding and testing the software across multiple platforms. This experience gave me a complete understanding of the entire software project lifecycle and the intricacies involved in each step.
  2. Be Proactive and Ask Questions: It’s completely normal to encounter things you don’t know. Simply asking questions and seeking out helpful resources can assist you in effectively managing any issues. Plus your colleagues will be impressed by your initiative.
  3. Expose Yourself to Multiple Projects: Maintaining a desire to acquire knowledge and skills is essential for effectively transitioning from one project to another. Try to learn as much as you can from each exposure.

As a student seeking to enhance my skill set, I found the ThousandEyes’ internship program incredibly valuable and informative. The Engineering Team provided me with ample opportunities to learn and grow, and I am confident in recommending this organization and team to any student looking to gain practical experience in their field. Overall, my time at ThousandEyes was nothing short of fantastic, and I am grateful for the knowledge and experience I gained during my internship.

Check Out Current Openings at ThousandEyes!

--

--