Working in Cyber Security: “Build strong relationships with colleagues to help you through good times and bad”

What is it like to work in cyber security? We ask some of the members of the team in Symantec. Today, we hear from Brian Kirwan, Director, Globalisation.

Threat Intel
Threat Intel
3 min readFeb 13, 2019

--

Stock image. Strong relationships with colleagues are important.

How long have you been in this role?

Four-and-a-half years

How did you come to work in the field of cyber security?

On leaving university, I was offered three different jobs, one of which was with Symantec as a Quality Assurance Engineer. I had worked for Symantec during two summers from college before that in the Manufacturing department and liked the company — so I chose Symantec.

What advice would you give to someone who wants a job like yours?

In the early years of your career (and at all stages really), make the conscious effort to experience different roles to get a better understanding of an overall organization/company. That experience of different roles will stand to you. I would also say if there is a role or team you want to join, go and approach the right person and have that conversation. I’m lucky to work in a multinational company like Symantec where there are many different departments and potential opportunities.

Is the course you studied at university relevant to the job you have now?

Not that relevant but it helped me develop my critical thinking and communication skills. My original degree was a Bachelor of Arts in Geography. I then studied a postgraduate diploma in Business and Information Technology which helped me develop some critical IT skills. Most recently, I have completed a diploma in Business and Life Coaching — I learned a lot completing this and I feel it has helped me develop aspects of my leadership style.

What do you think are three qualities someone who wants to work in a role like yours needs to have?

1. Seek out people’s views: I don’t have all the answers, but I have great people around me with diverse views and opinions. Together we come up with a better solution.

2. Communicate often and openly: Do your best to communicate your message, be open to questions and hearing other people’s views. This helps bring people on the journey with you. Consistently ask your team what you’re doing well and what one thing you could do better (I’m still trying to practice this 😊).

3. Lead: Leadership can be challenging. It’s important to have a point of view on an issue and lead. Your team and the company expects that.

Any other tips, advice or anecdotes you would like to add?

Consistently develop your skill set, build and leverage strong relationships with colleagues to help you through both good times and bad, and smile through the good times and bad as best you can.

Check out the Security Response blog and follow Threat Intel on Twitter to keep up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of threat intelligence and cyber security.

Like this story? Recommend it by hitting the heart button so others on Medium see it, and follow Threat Intel on Medium for more great content.

--

--

Threat Intel
Threat Intel

Symantec’s Threat Hunter team brings you the latest threat intelligence from the IT security world.