Working in Cyber Security: “The great majority of my knowledge and skills have been gained on the job”

What is it like to work in cyber security? We ask some of the members of the team in Symantec. Today, we hear from Catherine Robinson, Principal Software Engineer.

Threat Intel
Threat Intel
2 min readJan 31, 2019

--

Stock image

How long have you been in this role?

11 years!

How did you come to work in the field of cyber security?

I started out doing a general science undergraduate course, but by third year I’d narrowed things down to biochemistry, physics and mathematics, and in my final year I decided to specialize in Applied Physics and Electronics. That last year was probably my first introduction to IT as it covered a little programming in Visual Basic and a small amount of Assembly. I really enjoyed both, which prompted me to consider a career in computing. There are many IT-related careers and courses out there but only a few sparked my interest, one of which was the Security and Forensic Computing master’s degree in Dublin City University (DCU). It was hard work but extremely interesting and a lot of fun; I subsequently arrived in Symantec Security Response and have no regrets.

What advice would you give to someone who wants a job like yours?

Do it because you enjoy it. One of the aspects I really like about working in Symantec Security Response is that I am surrounded by highly-skilled and enthusiastic people. My colleagues are passionate about what they do and that’s very evident.

Another good point to be aware of is that it’s not possible to know everything, remember there is an abundance of information online, and don’t be afraid to ask others. The best situation you can be in is surrounded by people with more experience and knowledge than you — it means you can learn from them.

Is the course you studied at university relevant to the job you have now?

Yes, the Security and Forensic Computing course was invaluable in providing a good knowledge base from which I could build. Although my undergraduate degree was not security or even really IT related it also provided many useful skills and I think gave me my work ethic and ability to persevere and troubleshoot. However, the great majority of my knowledge and skills have been gained on the job.

What do you think are three qualities someone who wants to work in a role like yours needs to have?

· Enthusiasm

· Persistence

· Common sense

Check out the Security Response blog and follow Threat Intel on Twitter to keep up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of threat intelligence and cyber security.

Like this story? Recommend it by hitting the heart button so others on Medium see it, and follow Threat Intel on Medium for more great content.

--

--

Threat Intel
Threat Intel

Symantec’s Threat Hunter team brings you the latest threat intelligence from the IT security world.