Working in Cyber Security: “Be resourceful and organized”

What is it like to work in cyber security? We ask some of the members of the team in Symantec. Today, we hear from Lionel Payet, Senior Security Response Manager and Threat Intel Officer.

Threat Intel
Threat Intel
3 min readJan 10, 2019

--

Stock image

How long have you been in this role?

About 7 years within Symantec Security Response.

How did you come to work in the field of cyber security?

After my studies, I stepped into the world of IT technical support, incident and service desk management. There, I discovered that I loved dealing with threat-related cases (investigation, remediation and prevention) and wanted to do more.

Two years after, I decided to join Symantec and applied to work within its SEP technical support team. I have not been disappointed and managed to learn a lot more and earn tons of experience dealing with cyber threats in a larger spectrum (from small to big companies) on a daily basis.

Three years later, a position within Symantec Security Response (STAR) opened up and I jumped at the opportunity. I still remember how that department was, and still is, considered to be the elite within Symantec. That position is the role I’m currently working in. It’s the perfect mix between threat analyst and management.

What advice would you give to someone who wants a job like yours?

Nowadays, there are tons of diplomas that target cyber security in general so picking one of them is a good way to become a threat analyst or response manager.

Is the course you studied at university relevant to the job you have now?

Back in my time, diplomas in cyber security were pretty rare if non-existent. I did study computer application development — mostly focused on database and IT Service Management (ITSM) software. It was great and like I mentioned above I did join an international technical support company thinking that I would learn more about ITSM systems from a backline user point of view. Indeed, I did understand more about ITSM systems but in the end fell in love with cyber security and changed my career plan.

What do you think are three qualities someone who wants to work in a role like yours needs to have?

· Strengthen your cognitive skills.

· Be resourceful and organized.

· Stress management — Very often we have to deal with stressful crises (related to cyber threats and/or infrastructure issues due to content release) and manage them to the end. These crises often involve multiple teams and shareholders across all levels.

Check out the Security Response blog and follow Threat Intel on Twitter to keep up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of threat intelligence and cyber security.

Like this story? Recommend it by hitting the heart button so others on Medium see it, and follow Threat Intel on Medium for more great content.

--

--

Threat Intel
Threat Intel

Symantec’s Threat Hunter team brings you the latest threat intelligence from the IT security world.